AQUATIC NOTEBOOK, Issue 207: Florida Men Ranked No. 1, FGC Swimmer Luke Torres Makes Gators Travel Squad

AQUATIC NOTEBOOK, Issue 207; Florida Men Ranked No. 1, FGC Swimmer Luke Torres Makes Gators Travel Squad


October 25, 2012

University of Florida men’s swimming and diving team have been ranked No. 1 in the nation among NCAA Division I teams in the first College Swimming Coaches Association of America poll.

The Gators, led by Sebastien Rousseau, Marcin Cieslak and Eduardo Solaeche-Gomez were a unanimous pick for the top spot.

The four other teams in the Top five are Michigan, Stanford, Southern California and Texas. Defending men’s national champion California is ranked seventh.

Florida is one of eight Southeastern Conference schools ranked in the Top 25. Another state school that is ranked is Florida State at No. 15.

Of the Gators seven dual meets remaining, they will swim against six who are ranked among the Top 25 including Georgia, South Carolina, Texas A&M, Florida State, Auburn and Tennessee.

The Gators are on the road this week. They swim against No. 9 Georgia on Thursday and No. 12 South Carolina in Columbia, S.C. on Friday.

Gator freshman Luke Torres, a Florida Gold Coast swimmer and American Heritage Plantation alum, has made the travel squad in his first year of collegiate swimming.

The rankings will be released on a regular basis throughout the 2012-13 season alternating weeks between a men’s and women’s team rankings.

MEN’S POLL: 1. Florida, 2. Michigan, 3. Stanford, 4. Southern California, 5. Texas, 6. Auburn, 7. California, 8. Indiana, 9. North Carolina, Georgia, 11. Arizona, 12. South Carolina, 13. Minnesota, 14. N.C. State, 15. Florida State, 16. Louisville, 17. Penn State, 18. Purdue, 19. Iowa, 20. Alabama, 21. Texas A&M, 22. LSU, 23. Missouri State, 24. Tennessee, 25. Wisconsin.

More college swimming

Caroline Kuczynski, who trains with SOFLO, will compete in her first meet as team captain on Saturday when the Sun Devils swim against Grand Canyon University and Washington State in their season-opener in Tempe, Ariz…SOFLO’s Marc Rojas and his Indian River State College teammates open the season on Nov. 2 against Tampa in their home opener…Nova Southeastern swept St. Leo College last weekend with a 130-74 win over the men’s team and 159-46 victory over the women’s team. “Our athletes are performing on par to what I expect at this point in the season,” said NSU coach Hollie Bonewit-Cron, expecting her first child. “With the amount of training that we are doing, we still need to make improvements on some technical aspects in our stroke work and our training regimen.” SOFLO swimmer Bianca Muniz was a member of the runner-up 400-yard medley relay (4:07.70) and 200-yard freestyle relay teams (1:43.71), third in the 50-yard freestyle in a best time 25.53, bettering her seed time of 25.81 and third in the 100-yard freestyle in 55.24…Sophomore Linea Cutter, another FGC swimmer, won the 50-yard freestyle in 24.83. She also anchored the winning 400-yard medley relay (4:03.14). She was second in the 100-yard freestyle in 54.00. The Sharks next meet is Saturday, Nov. 3 against Rollins in Winter Park…NSU’s Erin Black of Fort Myers was named Sunshine State Conference Women’s Swimmer of the Week.

Torres Will Host Gator Growl

Five-time Olympian and Class of 1990 University of Florida alum Dara Torres, who now lives in Boston, will emcee this year’s Gator Growl. The show, which is regarded as the largest student-run pep rally in the world, is schedyled for 7 p.m. Nov. 9 at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium. The show will also feature country singer Josh Turner and comedian Tracy Morgan as the featured performers. Tickets are $15 for students, $20 for UF faculty and staff and $25 for alumni and guests.


The 2012 Ironman World Championships will be televised on NBC Sports on Saturday from 4-6 p.m. The broadcast includes the event in addition to inspiring athlete stories…Olympian Gary Hall Jr. has been hired as sports marketing director at the Edith Sanford Breast Cancer Foundation…Double Olympic champions Ranomi Kromowidjojo of the Netherlands and Yannick Agnel of France were named European Swimmers of the Year by LEN. Top open water swimmers were Eva Risztov of Hungary and Thomas Lurz of Germany.

Sharon Robb can be reached at

Author: South Florida Aquatic Club - SOFLO Swimming

Welcome to the South Florida Aquatic club, a premier community swim team dedicated to providing opportunity and encouragement to all team members, from the beginner to the seasoned Olympic athlete in their pursuit of excellence. The year-round development program for competitive swimming features life-enhancing qualities including integrity, discipline, teamwork, sportsmanship and health and fitness. We invite you to navigate the club’s portal for information about the team.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s