Meet Records Fall; FGC’s Kopas Sixth On Day One Of Speedo Junior Nationals

Meet Records Fall; FGC’s Kopas Sixth On Day One Of Speedo Junior Nationals


August 5, 2013

Two meet records were broken on opening night of the Speedo Junior Nationals at the William Woollett Aquatic Center in Irvine, Calif.

Andrew Seliskar, 16, of Nation’s Capital and Joseph Bentz, 17, of Dynamo Swim Club broke boys meet records on Monday night.

Seliskar, the fastest morning qualifier, won the 200-meter butterfly in a meet record 1:56.54, breaking the 2009 meet record of 1:56.95 set by Kyle Whitaker of Duneland.

Seliskar earned the top seed in 1:57.26, bettering his previous best of 1:57.48.

Bentz, the second fastest morning qualifier in 2:15.52, won the 200-meter breaststroke in a meet record 2:12.88. The previous record was 2:14.35 set by Christian Higgins of Wilton Y in 2010.

Jonathan Roberts, 17, of North Texas won the 1500-meter freestyle in 15:24.82.

Mission Viejo’s Katie McLaughlin, 16, the top seed in the morning, won the 200-meter butterfly in a best time 2:09.68. Clearwater’s Becca Mann, 15, qualified seventh in 2:12.83 but scratched from finals to swim the 800 which she won in 8:36.72.

SwimMAC’s Maija Roses, 17, won the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:31.77. She had the fastest qualifying time of 2:31.87.

Emily Kopas, 17, swimming unattached, was the top Florida Gold Coast finisher.

Kopas was sixth in the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:33.23. Kopas had the fourth fastest time in prelims in 2:33.90.

Kopas is ranked fourth in the world junior rankings (2:32.58) and is ranked first in the 100-meter breaststroke in 1:10.11.

The early heats of the girls 800 and boys 1500 were also held.

South Florida Aquatic Club also began competing on Monday.

Melissa Marinheiro, 16, swam a best time in the 800-meter freestyle in 9:02.30, dropping from 9:04.32. It was the first of four events she is entered in. Julien Pinon will swim the 200-meter freestyle.



200-meter butterfly: 1. Katie McLaughlin, Mission Viejo 2:09.68; FGC: 16. Isabella Paez, Metro Aquatics 2:15.63, 40. Megan Moroney, St. Andrew’s 2:17.55, best time.

200-meter breaststroke: 1. Maija Roses, SwimMAC 2:31.77; FGC: 6. Emily Kopas, Unattached 2:33.23, 54. Lindsey Swartz, Pine Crest 2:38.67, 61. Rachael Bradford-Feldman, St. Andrew’s 2:39.45.

800-meter freestyle: 1. Becca Mann, Clearwater 8:36.72; FGC: 27.Megan Moroney, St. Andrew’s 8:52.89, best time, 67. Melissa Marinheiro, SOFLO 9:02.30, best time, 96. Olivia Katcher, Swim Fort Lauderdale 9:17.56.


200-meter butterfly: 1. Andrew Seliskar, Nation’s Capital 1:56.54, meet record; FGC: Julian Ballestas, Metro Aquatics. DQ

200-meter breaststroke: 1. Joseph Bentz, Dynamo Swim Club 2:12.88, meet record.

1500-meter freestyle: 1. Jonathan Roberts, North Texas 15:24.82; FGC: 25. Kent Haeffner, Pine Crest 15:52.59, 37. Marco Hosfeld 15:59.70, 38. Lance Rutkin, Swim Fort Lauderdale 16:00.33, 93. Blake Manganiello, AK Sharks 16:29.71.

Sharon Robb can be reached at

Author: South Florida Aquatic Club - SOFLO Swimming

Welcome to the South Florida Aquatic club, a premier community swim team dedicated to providing opportunity and encouragement to all team members, from the beginner to the seasoned Olympic athlete in their pursuit of excellence. The year-round development program for competitive swimming features life-enhancing qualities including integrity, discipline, teamwork, sportsmanship and health and fitness. We invite you to navigate the club’s portal for information about the team.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: