SOFLO’s Marinheiro, Pinon Named All-County First Team; Lucas Earns Second Team Honors

SOFLO’s Marinheiro, Pinon Named All-County First Team; Lucas Earns Second Team Honors


By Sharon Robb

December 25, 2013

Melissa Marinheiro of West Broward High School earned first team honors on the Broward County All-County girls’ team scheduled to be released in Friday’s South Florida Sun-Sentinel.

Marinheiro, a junior, earned honors in both the 200-yard freestyle (1:52.21) and 500-yard freestyle (4:51.13).

Archbishop McCarthy’s Kaitlin Armstrong, Kylie Herman and Haley Wright of Cypress Bay, Lilli Calero of Pembroke Pines Charter and Amber Hunter of West Broward earned honorable mention honors.

Debbie Cavanaugh of Fort Lauderdale High School was named Coach of the Year.

Clara Smiddy of South Florida Heat was named Girls Swimmer of the Year.

Other first team selections are:

Carolyn Chaney, Pine Crest, 1-meter diving.

Karlee Price, St. Thomas Aquinas, 1-meter diving.

Marta Ciesla, Pine Crest, 50-, 100-yard freestyles.

Emily Kopas, University School, 100-yard breaststroke, 200-yard individual medley

Emma Lincoln, Cypress Bay, 100- and 200-yard freestyles.

Tyla Martin, Pine Crest, 100-yard butterfly, 200-yard individual medley

Jessica Nava, Westminster Academy, 100-yard butterfly, 100-yard backstroke

Amanda Tipton, Nova, 100-yard butterfly, 100-yard backstroke

Pine Crest, 200-yard medley relay (Miriyam Ghali, Lindsey Swartz, Tyla Martin, Marta Ciesla)

Pine Crest, 200-yard freestyle relay (Marta Ciesla, Julia Chui, Brooke Bernstein, Hannah Veale)

Pine Crest, 400-yard freestyle relay (Miriyam Ghali, Julia Chui, Tyla Martin, Hannah Veale).

Julien Pinon of state champion American Heritage earned first team boys honors.

The sophomore was selected in the 100-yard freestyle (46.66) and 200-yard freestyle (1:39.34). He was also the leadoff swimmer on the first team 400-yard freestyle relay for the Patriots.

Juan Lucas, a freshman at Pembroke Pines Charter, was named to the second team in the 100-yard backstroke.

Matthew Mila and Kry Nichlany of Archbishop McCarthy earned honorable mention honors.

Other first team selections are:

Logan Downey, South Plantation, one-meter diving.

Austin Fields, Pine Crest, one-meter diving.

Alex Evdokimov, Taravella, 100- and 200-yard breaststrokes, 200 individual medley

Kent Haeffner, Pine Crest, 200- and 500-yard freestyles.

Raphael Marcoux, Fort Lauderdale, 50- and 100-yard freestyles.

Nico Medina, American Heritage, 100-yard backstroke, 500-yard freestyle.

Chad Moody, Cardinal Gibbons, 100-yard butterfly, 100-yard backstroke.

Alex Morgan, West Broward, 100-yard breaststroke, 50-yard freestyle.

Anton Voronin of North Broward Prep, 50- and 100-yard freestyles.

American Heritage, 200-yard medley relay (Nico Medina, Digby Nothard, Fernando Bohorquez, Taylor Eaddy).

University School, 200-yard freestyle (Nicolas Oberndorfer, Patrick Groters, Matthew Lyn, Jordy Groters).

American Heritage, 400-yard freestyle relay (Julien Pinon, Nico Medina, Fernando Bohorquez, Chris Garcia).

Karney McNear of Nova High School was selected Boys’ Coach of the Year.

Jordy Groters of University School was named Boys Swimmer of the Year.

The well-respected Miami Herald All-County teams for Broward and Miami-Dade are expected to be released in January.

Sharon Robb can be reached at

Author: South Florida Aquatic Club - SOFLO Swimming

Welcome to the South Florida Aquatic club, a premier community swim team dedicated to providing opportunity and encouragement to all team members, from the beginner to the seasoned Olympic athlete in their pursuit of excellence. The year-round development program for competitive swimming features life-enhancing qualities including integrity, discipline, teamwork, sportsmanship and health and fitness. We invite you to navigate the club’s portal for information about the team.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s