Sebastian Sierra is the Nike Swimmer of the Month for February.

The 12-year-old South Florida Aquatic Club swimmer has been a fast learner since he joined the team in October, 2012.

Burned out on judo, Sierra decided to sign up for swimming and started with the Meteorites.

Two years later, Sierra already has eight Junior Olympic cuts and will compete in this weekend’s FGC Junior Olympics in Coral Springs. He earned most of his JO cuts at last month’s Gulliver meet.

“I just didn’t want to train anymore in judo, I thought swimming would be the best sport for me,” Sierra said. “I like the water and the pool so much.”

Sierra said his favorite strokes are freestyle and butterfly.

“I like them because I put so much force in those strokes,” Sierra said. “It just comes out naturally. I have been practicing for a while now and it’s been great. I love practicing those strokes.”

Sierra, a seventh grader, trains with Coach Rose Lockie and Bronze group six days a week.

“I know it took me a while to learn to swim,” Sierra said. “My first meet was with the Meteorites. It was fun. I don’t know why it happened so fast, probably because I am a natural swimmer.

“I am excited I am doing well,” he said. “Coach Rose is really happy with my progress. I think I am going to stay in swimming.”

The Nike Swimmer of the Month award, chosen by the SOFLO coaching staff, is awarded each month to the swimmer who excels at swim meets and practice sessions. –Sharon Robb

http://www.swim4soflo.com

