By Sharon Robb

May 17, 2014

Hungarian Olympian Katinka Hosszu, top qualifier in three events on Day Three of the Charlotte Arena Grand Prix, showed why her nickname is the Iron Lady.

After winning the 200-meter freestyle and 400-meter individual medley on Friday night at the Mecklenburg County Aquatic Center, Hosszu, 25, won the 200-meter butterfly in 2:09.66 and 100-meter backstroke in 59.64 and finished eighth in the 400-meter freestyle in 4:12.86.

Hosszu now has four wins over two days.

Bahamian two-time Olympian and national record holder Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace of SwimMAC won both the sprint events, the 50-meter freestyle and 50-meter butterfly.

After missing her heat in the morning, she qualified from the B flight during prelims and won the 50 freestyle in 24.65. She came back to win the 50-meter butterfly against an impressive field in 26.28.

Olympic superstar Michael Phelps, who won his first race Friday since coming out of retirement 18 months ago, made it back to Baltimore on Saturday in time to watch California Chrome win the Preakness.

Phelps made it to the winners’ circle again winning a trifecta during the day of racing. Phelps and his longtime coach Bob Bowman own race horses together.

In other championship finals Saturday night:

Women’s 200-meter butterfly: Hungarian Katinka Hosszu, 25, swimming the first of three events she qualified for Saturday night, won by a body length in 2:09.66. Clearwater’s Becca Mann of North Baltimore was second in 2:11.61, a two-second margin of victory. Andreina Pinto of Gainesville Swim Club was fifth in 2:13.05. Canadian Katarine Savard won the “B” final in 2:10.91, that would have placed her second in the “A” final. “I was trying to take it one at a time, I wasn’t thinking about the next race,” Hosszu said. “We’ll see what happens.”

Men’s 200-meter butterfly: In a close race, 17-year-old Andrew Seliskar of Nation’s Capital turned it on in the last 50 (30.5 split) to win his first Grand Prix race in 1:57.40. Former NCAA champion Dylan Bosch was second in 1:58.34. Bolles’ Joseph Schooling, 18, was eighth in 2:03.06. “I felt pretty strong at the last turn, I pushed it under water at the last wall,” Seliskar said. “It’s really cool. You never get used to it, you come to this meet a little star struck.”

Women’s 50-meter freestyle: Bahamian Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace, 24, of SwimMAC won in 24.65, seventh fastest in the world this year and only 1/100th of a second off her best time. Training mate Madison Kennedy, 26, of SwimMAC was second in a best time 24.78 and Olympian Jessica Hardy was third in 26.46. “I didn’t feel that kind of swim coming on, I was just excited to race last night,” she said. “I just gave it all I had in my heart. I am very happy with that time.”

Men’s 50-meter freestyle: In an amazing race, Josh Schneider, buoyed by a great start, won the splash-and-dash and knocked off No. 2 world ranked Brazilian Bruno Fratus by 1/100th of a second in 22.17. Anthony Ervin was fourth in 22.49 and Cullen Jones was fifth in 22.81. “I have been working on my start with the weight coaches, trying to do a lot more outside of the pool,” Schneider said. “I was glad to see that come together. I just wanted to get a win after coming in second and third lots of times. I wanted to get the element of racing back and get the W.”

Women’s 100-meter backstroke: Trailing going into the turn, Katinka Hosszu came off the wall hard, took the lead and built on it to win her second event of the night in a season-best 59.64, fourth fastest time in the world this year. It was just 30 minutes after her opening race. It was her fourth individual win of the meet.

Men’s 100-meter backstroke: Arkady Vyatchanin, 30, of the New York Athletic Club just out-touched training mate David Plummer, 28, to win in 53.81 to Plummer’s 53.86. Florida State alum Pavel Sankovich was eighth in 56.12.

Women’s 400-meter freestyle: Allison Schmitt, 23, of North Baltimore won in 4:08.65 ahead of training mate Gillian Ryan in 4:09.10. Becca Mann was sixth in 4:10.82. “I just wanted to see where I was in my racing,” Schmitt said. “I am really motivated and ready to train for the next two years.” Hosszu competed just 17 minutes after winning the backstroke and finished eighth in 4:12.86. Five of the eight swimmers in the final train at North Baltimore Aquatic Club.

Men’s 400-meter freestyle: Connor Jaeger, 23, of Club Wolverine overtook early leader Conor Dwyer, 25, of North Baltimore and pulled away to win by a body length in 3:48.89. Dwyer was second in 3:50.23. “I didn’t see how fast he went out, luckily I didn’t see him, I think I would have freaked out,” Jaeger said. “I couldn’t see anyone, I wore my clear goggles. I am definitely very happy with that time after a few disappointing races.”

Women’s 200-meter breaststroke: In front of her home crowd, Micah Lawrence, 23, of SwimMAC won in a season-best 2:24.68, just missing a Top 10 ranking by 1/10th of a second. Melanie Margalis, 22, of St. Petersburg was second in 2:28.39. “My 100 gave me a lot of confidence coming into the 200 because it felt so smooth,” Lawrence said. “I have been working on getting back my stroke, it hasn’t been easy.”

Men’s 200-meter breaststroke: Iceland’s Anton McKee, 20, of University of Alabama overcame early leader Mike Alexandrov, 29, to win in 2:13.06. Alexandrov was second in 2:13.92 and Chase Kalisz, 20, was third in 2:14.34.

Women’s 50-meter butterfly: Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace of the Bahamas and SwimMAC won her second sprint race of the night in 26.28. Kelsi Worrell, 19, was second in 26.56. Bolles’ Carolina Colorado was eighth in 27.65.

Men’s 50-meter butterfly: Venezuelan two-time Olympian Albert Subirats, 27, of Auburn Aquatics won in 24.00. Singapore Olympian Joseph Schooling of Bolles was second in 24.11.

The meet concludes on Sunday with prelims at 9 a.m. and finals at 6 p.m. Both sessions will be live-streamed at usaswimming.org.

The Arena Grand Prix at Charlotte is the fifth stop on the six-event circuit and is loaded with Olympians and swimmers from 53 countries.

Sharon Robb can be reached at sha11cats@aol.com

http://www.swim4soflo.com

