FINA Short Course World Championships End With Five More World Records On Final Day

By Sharon Robb

December 7, 2014—Five more world records, including two by Sweden’s Sarah Sjostrum, were shattered on the fifth and final day of the 12th FINA Short Course World Swimming Championships Sunday at Hamad Aquatic Center in Doha, Qatar.

Twenty three world records and 24 meet records were broken during the week.

Ten women’s world records were broken including three-time Jamaican Olympian Alia Atkinson of South Florida Aquatic Club in the 100-meter breaststroke; four men’s world records were shattered and nine relay world records were smashed.

There are now only 33 world records on the long and short course books that are from 2009 and four from 2008 which was the “shiny suit” tech era where nearly every record was broken several times.

The biggest surprise was the U.S. being shut out of individual gold medals ever for the first time in meet history. Team USA won the 2014 Team of the Meet honors for finishing with the highest number of medals. The U.S. had the most medals with 17 but only 2 gold to go with 9 silver and 6 bronze.

While the U.S. team’s lack of gold medals was disappointing, Brazil’s was not. On the final day Brazil won four gold medals and finished on top of the gold medal standings with 11 overall (7 gold, 1 silver, 2 bronze). The Netherlands had 12 medals (5 gold, 1 silver, 6 bronze) and Hungary had 10 (6 gold, 2 silver, 2 bronze).

Brazilian Etiene Medeiros broke the world and course records in the 50-meter backstroke in 25.67 and made history. She is Brazil’s first-ever women’s individual world championship gold medalist.

Markus Diebler of Germany tied 30-year-old Ryan Lochte’s world record in the 100-meter individual medley in 50.66. Russian Vladimir Morozov was second in 50.81. Lochte took the bronze in 51.24.

Sweden’s Sarah Sjostrum broke two world record in one night. She broke the 100-meter butterfly world record in 54.61. The previous record was 55.05. Sjostrum also broke the world record in the 200-meter freestyle in 1:50.78, beating Katinka Hosszu, second in 1:51.18.

The Netherlands’ 200-yard freestyle relay of Inge Dekker, Femke Heemskerk, Maud Van Der Meer and Ranomi Kromowidjojo broke the world record twice in prelims 1:35.74 and again in finals in 1:34.24. The previous record was 1:37.04 set by Denmark. The Netherlands succeeded in sweeping all free relay world records. The U.S. team of Madison Kennedy, Abbey Weitzeil, Natalie Coughlin and Amy Bilquist was second in 1:34.61.

Hungarian Katinka Hosszu and South African Chad Le Clos, the FINA 2014 Swimmers of the Year, were also named Swimmers of the Meet by FINA, the sport’s international governing body.

Hosszu finished with eight individual medals, the highest total ever among women and also equalling Lochte’s performance in 2012 in Turkey. The difference was Lochte won some of his medals in relay events.

Hosszu finished with four gold including four world records, three silver medals and one bronze and earned $106,000 in prize money.

Le Clos won four individual events and broke one world record. He is also the first swimmer to sweep the 50, 100 and 200 butterfly events. He won $43,000 in prize money. France’s Florent Manadou was the top male money winner with $49,000.

On the final day, Le Clos broke the course record in the 200-meter butterfly in 1:48.61.

In other finals:

Kromowidjojo won the 50-yard freestyle in 23.32 followed by Aussie Bronte Campbell in 23.62 and Germany’s Dorothea Brandt in 23.77. Ex-Bolles swimmer Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace of the Bahamas was fifth in 23.93.

Brazilian Cesar Cielo won the 100-meter freestyle in 45.75.

Poland’s Radoslaw Kawecki beat Lochte for the gold medal in the 200-meter backstroke in 1:47.38. Lochte finished second in 1:48.20. Bolles’ Omar Pinzon was sixth in 1:50.88. Lochte finished with $16,000 for two silvers and two bronze medals.

Japan’s Kanako Watanabe won the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:16.92 followed by countrywoman Rie Kaneto in 2:17.43.

Atkinson, still riding the emotional high of tying the world record, failed to qualify for finals. Atkinson finished tenth in 2:20.08. Atkinson finished with $7,000 for a gold medal, $5,000 or a silver and $15,000 bonus money for tying the world record for $27,000 in total prize money.

Brazilian Felipe Franca Silva broke the course record in the 50-meter breaststroke in 25.63 and finished ahead of Brit Adam Peaty in 25.87. Peaty was the previous course record holder in 25.75.

Gregorio Paltrinieri of Italy broke the course record in the 1500-meter freestyle in 14:16.10. Ous Mellouli of Tunisia was second in 14:18.79 and Canadian Ryan Cochrane was third in 14:23.35.

Brazil won the 400-meter medley relay in 3:21.14 with Guilherme Guido, Felipe Franca Silva, Marcos Macedo and Cielo. The U.S. team of Matt Grevers, Cody Miller, Tom Shields and Lochte was second in 3:21.49.

Denmark defended its title in the 400-meter medley relay in 3:48.86 with Mie Ostergaard Nielsen, Rikke Moller Pedersen, Jeanette Ottesen and Pernille Blume.

The state of Florida had 27 nine swimmers, who train in Florida, representing 18 countries. The biennial event features 1,100 swimmers from 171 countries.


Max Abreu, Paraguay, Bolles

Marcelo Acosta, El Salvador, Azura Florida Aquatics

Alia Atkinson, Jamaica, South Florida Aquatic Club

Jevon Atkinson, Jamaica, South Florida Aquatic Club

Valentina Artemevia, Russia, Bolles

Elizabeth Beisel, United States, Gator Swim Club

Elvis Burrows, Bahamas, Orlando

Lani Cabrera, Barbados, Florida Gulf Coast

Marcin Cieslak, Poland, Gator Swim Club

Carolina Colorado, Colombia, Bolles

Mitch D’Arrigo, Italy, Gator Swim Club

Brett Fraser, Cayman Islands, Florida/Bolles

Patrick Groters, Aruba, Pine Crest Swim Team

Talisa Lanoe, Kenya, Performance Aquatics (PAQ)

Ryan Lochte, Daytona Beach, United States

Hilda Luthersdottir, Iceland, Gator Swim Club

Melanie Margalis, United States, St. Petersburg Aquatics

Noah Mascoll-Gomes, Antigua & Barbuda, Azura

Jorge Murillo, Colombia, Bolles

Vien Nguyen, Vietnam, St. Augustine Swim Team Cyclones

Chinyere Pigot, Suriname, Metro Aquatics

Zuhayr Pigot, Suriname, Metro Aquatics

Omar Pinzon, Colombia, Bolles

Sebastien Rousseau, South Africa, Gator Swim Club

Mario Todorivic, Croatia, Bolles

Rafael Van Leeuwaarde, Suriname, Florida State

Ariel Weech, Bahamas, Orlando

Sharon Robb can be reached at


Author: South Florida Aquatic Club - SOFLO Swimming

Welcome to the South Florida Aquatic club, a premier community swim team dedicated to providing opportunity and encouragement to all team members, from the beginner to the seasoned Olympic athlete in their pursuit of excellence. The year-round development program for competitive swimming features life-enhancing qualities including integrity, discipline, teamwork, sportsmanship and health and fitness. We invite you to navigate the club’s portal for information about the team.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s