Lochte, Phelps, Vanderpool-Wallace Win On Final Night Of Mesa Arena Pro Swim Series; Dwyer, Beisel Lead Series Points Standings

By Sharon Robb

April 20, 2015—It was a big night for Olympians on the fourth and final day of the Arena Pro Swim Series Saturday at Skyline Aquatic Center in Mesa, Ariz.

Bahamian Olympian Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace swept the freestyle events. She won the 100-meter freestyle in 54.18 a day after she won the 50-meter freestyle.

Ryan Lochte of Daytona Beach and Swim MAC won his first event, the 200-meter individual medley in 1:58.70 ahead of Florida alum Conor Dwyer in 1:59.04 and Michael Phelps of North Baltimore third in 2:00.01.

Twenty-five minutes after the IM, Phelps came back to win the 100-meter freestyle in 49.72, Lochte, the top morning qualifier, was second in 49.77 and Dwyer was third in 50.02. Phelps surged from last to first on the final lap.

Several Floridians turned in solid swims.

Azura Florida Aquatics’ Marcelo Acosta of Louisville was third in the 1500-meter freestyle in 15:37.04.

Katie Hoff of Hurricane Aquatics was third in the 200-meter individual medley in 2:13.82 and St. Augustine’s Vien Nguyen of Vietnam was seventh in 2:19.85. The national record holder was also seventh in the 800-meter freestyle in 8:52.74.

South Florida Aquatic Club’s Alia Atkinson won the “B” final of the 200-meter individual medley in 2:17.28 that would have placed her sixth in the “A” final.

SOFLO teammate Carolina Colorado was eighth in the 200-meter backstroke in 2:19.92.

Florida alum Conor Dwyer and Hungarian Katinka Hosszu were leading money winners in Mesa. Hosszu totaled $4,400 for three wins, two seconds and one third place finish. Even though she failed to win any prize money, Elizabeth Beisel of Gator Swim Club still leads the women’s points standings with $7,700.

Dwyer won $3,000 to break the $10,000 barrier in total earnings with $10,600. Dwyer leads the men’s points standings. Lochte is second with $4,000.

The four-day meet was the fourth stop on the Arena Pro Swim Series. The top three finishers won $1,000, $600 and $200.



200-meter individual medley: 1. Katinka Hosszu, Hungary 2:11.40, 2. Caitlin Leverenz, Cal Aquatics 2:12.59, 3. Katie Hoff, Hurricane Aquatics 2:13.82; FLORIDA: 8. Alia Atkinson, SOFLO 2:17.28, 32. Lindsey Swartz, Pine Crest Swimming 2:25.37.

200-meter backstroke: 1. Kirsty Coventry, SwimMAC 2:12.05, 2. Katinka Hosszu, Hungary 2:12.14, 3. Taylor Ruck, SAC 2:12.28; FLORIDA: 8. Carolina Colorado, SOFLO 2:19.92, 9. Elizabeth Beisel, Gator Swim Club 2:12.95, 16. Vien Nguyen, St. Augustine 2:21.38, 18. Kira Toussaint, Swim Florida 2:21.02, 20. Jessica Nava, Pine Crest Swimming 2:30.23.

100-meter freestyle: 1. Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace, SwimMAC 54.18, 2. Allison Schmitt, North Baltimore 55.35, 3. Abbey Weitzeil, Unattached 55.59; FLORIDA: 23. Marta Ciesla, Pine Crest 58.64, 24. Heather Arseth, University of Miami 58.90, 30. Emma Svensson, Swim Florida 58.90, 47. Angela Algee, University of Miami 59.56, 48. My Fridell, University of Miami 59.64, 56. Lisa Blackburn, SOFLO 1:01.87.

800-meter freestyle: 1. Katie Ledecky, Nation’s Capital 8:13.02, 2. Lotte Friis, North Baltimore 8:31.65, 3. Kristel Kobrich, CHI 8:41.06; FLORIDA: 7. Vien Nguyen, Unattached 8:52.74, 20. Cameron Davis, University of Miami 9:27.91.

4×100-meter medley relay: 1. Louisville 4:11.16, 2. University of Miami 4:32.44.


200-meter individual medley: 1. Ryan Lochte, SwimMAC 1:58.70, 2. Conor Dwyer, Unattached 1:59.04, 3. Michael Phelps, North Baltimore 2:00.01; FLORIDA: 51. Luis Jasso, Unattached 2:16.87.

200-meter backstroke: 1. Arkady Vyatchanin, New York Athletic Club 1:56.95, 2. Tyler Clary, SwimMAC 1:58.45, 3. Jacob Pebley, Unattached 1:59.98; FLORIDA: 8. Luis Rojas, Unattached 2:08.01.

100-meter freestyle: 1. Michael Phelps, North Baltimore 49.72, 2. Ryan Lochte, SwimMAC 49.77, 3. Conor Dwyer, Unattached 50.02; FLORIDA: 5. Renzo Tjon A Joe, Unattached 50.26, 20. Jesus Marin, Unattached 51.67, 36. Allan Gutierrez, Unattached 51.98, 48. Raul Garrastazu, Unattached 52.48, 53. Cody Cline, Wahoos of Wellington 52.55, 70. Edson Lima, Unattached 53.91, 87. Moose Skjaerpe, Unattached 55.36.

1500-meter freestyle: 1. Michael McBroom, TWST 15:09.20, 2. Nick Norman, Unattached 15:29.39, 3. Marcelo Acosta, Louisville 15:37.04; FLORIDA: 10. Matt DeAngulo, Club Seminole 15:57.32, 13. Juan Tolosa, Unattached 16:02.59.

4×100-meter medley relay: 1. Flemish Swimming Federation 3:50.17.

Sharon Robb can be reached at sha11cats@aol.com



Author: South Florida Aquatic Club - SOFLO Swimming

Welcome to the South Florida Aquatic club, a premier community swim team dedicated to providing opportunity and encouragement to all team members, from the beginner to the seasoned Olympic athlete in their pursuit of excellence. The year-round development program for competitive swimming features life-enhancing qualities including integrity, discipline, teamwork, sportsmanship and health and fitness. We invite you to navigate the club’s portal for information about the team.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s