By Sharon Robb

February 8, 2016—-Odin Farkas and one of his friends signed up for swim lessons three years ago.

Farkas stayed with it and is still swimming. His friend didn’t.

“I first started at a water park and did swim trials,” Farkas explained. “That got me interested. Then I came over to SOFLO and tried out. They said I needed lessons so I took them and worked my way up.”

Farkas, 12, a sixth grader at Silver Trails Middle School, is enjoying the sport and having fun whether he is training or competing. He is training with the Asteroids and Coach Luis.

The South Florida Aquatic Club swimmer starts the new year off as the TYR January Swimmer of the Month based on his performance at the Jan. 29-31 SOFLO Invite where he earned two more Junior Olympic cuts in the backstroke.

“I am really happy how I got my two backstroke cuts, the last two I needed,” Farkas said. “Now I have all my JO cuts for backstroke and I will be able to swim all three. I am happy about those swims and my breaststroke, too.”

It’s the most JO cuts Farkas has earned in swimming. He got a JO cut in the 50 backstroke in the 10-and-unders and 11-12.

“I like the competition, I have a chance to be competitive every day. It’s not like football or baseball where you have to wait for a game,” Farkas said.

“I hope soon I will be able to do a lot better in practice and get back into my rhythm. I want to be doing amazing at practice. I like it that I have a chance to be competitive every day.”

Farkas has been swimming for nearly three years. The sport has provided him with self-esteem, confidence, discipline and a healthy way to continue in a lifetime sport.

“I really like how it’s fun, No. 1,” Farkas said. “I don’t like sweating or feeling very hot in the summer time. The pool cools me off. I like being there with my friends, too, and talking to them at the pool.”

Farkas is also working on improving his time management skills which swimming has helped with.

“I am not the best at time management but I get my homework done, I get my swimming done, I make it to practice on time and go to sleep at a normal time. I am good enough at it to get by.”

Farkas plays other sports for fun, but swimming is his only and favorite team sport. He hopes to pile up a few more cuts at the upcoming Area 3 meet and have a good JO meet.

“I like to make sure I stay healthy with swimming,” Farkas said. “It’s a great sport that’s easy on your body and joints.

“I plan on staying in the sport for a few more years. I like it. I like how it is an everyday thing. I’m glad I started swimming.”

The TYR Swimmer of the Month award, chosen by the SOFLO coaching staff, is awarded each month to the swimmer who excels at both swim meets and practice sessions. Each TYR Swimmer of the Month receives a free TYR mini backpack.

Sharon Robb can be reached at sha11cats@aol.com

