Phelps, Ledecky, Adrian Win Big On Day Two Of Mesa Arena Pro Swim Series

By Sharon Robb

April 15, 2016—Michael Phelps of North Baltimore Aquatic Club returned to winning form on the second night of the Arena Pro Series Grand Prix Friday at Skyline Aquatic Center.

The greatest swimmer of all time won the 200-meter butterfly with a strong front half in 1:58.14. His opening split was 54.93. Pace Clark of Athens Bulldogs was a close second in 1:58.71.

World record holder Katie Ledecky, 19, of Nation’s Capital, swam the world’s second fastest time this year in the 400-meter freestyle in 4:02.15. In her third swim within 90 minutes, Hungarian Katinka Hosszu was fifth in 4:14.59.

Olympic sprinter Nathan Adrian dropped .01 seconds off the world’s third-fastest time to win the 50-meter freestyle in 21.69 leaving Anthony Ervin and Cullen Jones in his wake. Madison Kennedy won the 50-meter freestyle in 24.45, sixth fastest time in the world.

David Plummer, 30, of New York Athletic Club won the 100-meter backstroke in 54.29 ahead of Ryan Lochte, 31, of SwimMAC in 55.35 and Arkady Vyatchanin, 32, also of New York Athletic Club in 55.39.

BJ Johnson won the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:14.16 ahead of Nic Fink in 2:15.06. Breeja Larson, after missing the A final in the 100-meter breaststroke in front of her hometown crowd, came back to win the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:26.64.

Cammile Adams won the 200-meter butterfly in 2:08.59. Maya DiRado out-touched Kirsty Coventry in the 100-meter backstroke in 1:00.71 to 1:00.74. On her second swim of the night, Hosszu was third in 1:00.84.

Michael McBroom, 24, won a close race in the 400-meter freestyle. McBroom won in 3:49.04 ahead of Conor Dwyer in 3:49.90 and Clark Smith in 3:49.96.

Saturday’s events are: 200-meter individual medley, 200-meter backstroke and 100-meter freestyle.

The three-day meet is one of the last major tests before the 2016 U.S. Olympic trials and is serving as a FINA-approved competition where swimmers can achieve qualifying times for the Summer Olympics.

It is the fourth of seven stops on the Arena Pro Swim Series. A record prize purse of $350,000 is being offered during the series. At each meet, $1,000 will be awarded for first, $600 for second and $200 for third.

Nathan Adrian leads the current men’s point standings with 30 and Ledecky leads the women’s with 40.

The entire meet is being live streamed at Prelims are noon and finals at 8 p.m. Eastern Standard Time.

NBC Sports Network will air the meet on next-day delay (midnight on Saturday) while NBC Sports Live Extra will stream the finals.



200-meter butterfly: 1. Cammile Adams, SwimMAC 2:08.59, 2. Cassidy Bayer, Nation’s Capital 2:09.68, 3. Maya DiRado, Stanford 2:10.33; SOFLO: 34. Claire Donahue 2:23.24.

50-meter freestyle: 1. Madison Kennedy, SwimMAC 24.45, 2. Dana Vollmer, Cal Aquatics 24.69, 3. Abbey Weitzeil, CANY 24.72; SOFLO: 50. Claire Donahue 27.47.

100-meter backstroke: 1. Maya DiRado, Stanford 1:00.71, 2. Kirsty Coventry, SwimMAC 1:00.74, 3. Katinka Hosszu, Unattached 1:00.84; SOFLO: 26. Megan Romano 1:04.11.

200-meter breaststroke: 1. Breeja Larson, NYAC 2:26.64, 2. Ashley McGregor, PCSC 2:27.68, 3. Hilda Luthersdottir, Gator Swim Club 2:28.4; SOFLO: 27. Alia Atkinson 2:38.11.

400-meter freestyle: 1. Katie Ledecky, Nation’s Capital 4:02.15, 2. Cierra Runge, North Baltimore 4:08.08, 3. Lotte Friis, North Baltimore 4:08.89.


200-meter butterfly: 1. Michael Phelps, North Baltimore 1:58.14, 2. Pace Clark, ABSC 1:58.71, 3. Jonathan Gomez, SCAR 1:58.79.

50-meter freestyle: 1. Nathan Adrian, Cal Aquatics 21.69, 2. Anthony Ervin, Trojan Swim Club 22.28, 3. Cullen Jones, SwimMAC 22.30.

100-meter backstroke: 1. David Plummer, NYAC 54.29, 2. Ryan Lochte, SwimMAC 55.35, 3. Arkady Vyatchanin, NYAC 55.39.

200-meter breaststroke: 1. BJ Johnson, PASA 2:14.16, 2. Nic Fink, ABSC 2:15.06, 3. Miguel De Lara Ojeda, BDD 2:15.77; SOFLO: 33. Kile Aukerman 2:23.71.

400-meter freestyle: 1. Michael McBroom, TWST 3:49.04, 2. Conor Dwyer, Trojan 3:49.90, 3. Clark Smith, UT 3:49.96.

Sharon Robb can be reached at

Author: South Florida Aquatic Club - SOFLO Swimming

Welcome to the South Florida Aquatic club, a premier community swim team dedicated to providing opportunity and encouragement to all team members, from the beginner to the seasoned Olympic athlete in their pursuit of excellence. The year-round development program for competitive swimming features life-enhancing qualities including integrity, discipline, teamwork, sportsmanship and health and fitness. We invite you to navigate the club’s portal for information about the team.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: