Bolles Alum Condorelli Wins Again At Arena Pro Swim Series; Murillo, Atkinson Among Top 10

By Sharon Robb

May 14, 2016—Jacksonville Bolles alum Santo Condorelli won his second event Saturday night in the Arena Pro Swim Series at the newly-renovated Mecklenburg County Aquatic Center in Charlotte, N.C.

Condorelli, competing for Canada, won the 50-meter butterfly in 23.82, the only swimmer to crack 24 seconds. In morning prelims, he went 23.77 to earn the top seed.

On Friday, Condorelli, 21, posted the lone sub-53 second time to win the 100-meter butterfly in 52.53.

“I’m working on specific things at this event and trying to fine-tune my performance in preparing for the Olympics,” Condorelli said.

South Florida Aquatic Club three-time Jamaican Olympian Alia Atkinson scratched from the C final of the 200-meter breaststroke to focus on the B final of the 50 butterfly.

Atkinson finished 10th in the 50-meter butterfly final in 27.17. In morning prelims, Atkinson finished 22nd in the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:36.26. In morning prelims, she was 16th in the 50-meter butterfly in 27.92.

SOFLO teammate Jorge Murillo, 24, of Colombia was eighth in the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:20.68.

In Saturday’s other action:

Cammile Adams won the 200-meter butterfly in 2:08.14, her best time of the year.

Mexico’s Jonathan Gomez won the 200-meter butterfly in 1:57.36.

Canadian Chantal Van Landeghem won the 50-meter freestyle in 24.43.

Kylie Masse of Canada turned in the only sub-minute 100-meter backstroke to win in 59.98.

Arkady Vyatchanin won the 100-meter backstroke in 54.80 ahead of Ryan Lochte, second in 55.22.

Anne Lazor won the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:24.96.

Cody Miller won the men’s 200-meter breaststroke in 2:12.22.

Dana Vollmer, looking stronger than ever, won the 50-meter butterfly in 25.87 just ahead of Penny Oleksiak in 25.97.

Leah Smith won the 400-meter freestyle in a pool record in 4:05.21. The four-year record was held by Allison Schmidt in 4:05.40.

Conor Dwyer, training in altitude the last two months, led from wire to wire to win the 400-meter freestyle in 3:47.37.

Anthony Ervin, who recently relocated to SwimMAC, won the 50-meter freestyle in the only sub-22 in 21.98. Condorelli was second in 22.15.

The field features 30 national team members and more than 500 swimmers. The top three finishers win $1,000, $600 and $200. The meet is also a FINA-approved competition where swimmers can achieve qualifying times for the Olympics.

A full schedule of long course events are scheduled for Sunday, the meet’s final day, with prelims at 9 a.m. and finals at 6 p.m.

Only three Arena Pro Swim Series meets remain including this weekend’s event in Charlotte, Santa Clara and Indianapolis.

NBC Sports Live Extra will stream Sunday’s final sessions live. NBC Sports Network will air tape-delayed television coverage of the meet from noon to 3 p.m. The entire meet will also be live streamed at



200-meter butterfly: 1. Cammile Adams, SwimMAC 2:08.14, 2. Jen Marrkand, Unattached 2:09.89, 3. Hannah Saiz, SSTY 2:10.75.

50-meter freestyle: 1. Chantal Van Landeghem, Swimming Canada 24.43, 2. Madison Kennedy, SwimMAC 24.53, 3. Farida Osman, Unattached 25.00

100-meter backstroke: 1. Kylie Masse, Swimming Canada 59.98, 2. Kirsty Coventry, SwimMAC 1:00.12, 3. Ali Deloof, Michigan 1:00.41.

200-meter breaststroke: 1. Anne Lazor, AU 2:24.95, 2. Kierra Smith, Swimming Canada 2:25.06, 3. Lilly King, Indiana 2:25.13; SOFLO: 22. Alia Atkinson 2:36.26.

50-meter butterfly: 1. Dana Vollmer, Cal Aquatics 25.87, 2. Penny Oleksiak, Swimming Canada 25.97, 3. Farida Osman, Unattached 26.11; SOFLO: 10. Alia Atkinson 27.17.

400-meter freestyle: 1. Leah Smith, Unattached 4:05.21, 2. Lindsay Vrooman, Badger 4:07.71, 3. Gillian Ryan, Michigan 4:10.33.


200-meter butterfly: 1. Jonathan Gomez, SCAR 1:57.36, 2. Tyler Clary, SwimMAC 1:58.68, 3. Zach Harting, Louisville 1:59.68.

50-meter freestyle: 1. Anthony Ervin, Unattached 21.98, 2. Santo Condorelli, Swimming Canada 22.15, 3. Josh Schneider, NYAC 22.16.

100-meter backstroke: 1. Javier Acevedo, Swimming Canada 56.38, 2. Markus Thormeyer, Swimming Canada 56.41, 3. Carter Griffin, UMIZ 56.45.

200-meter breaststroke: 1. Cody Miller, Badger 2:12.22, 2. Mauro Castillo Luna, TAMU 2:15.28, 3. Luis Jasso, Mexico 2:15.48; SOFLO: 8. Jorge Murillo 2:20.68, 37. Marc Rojas 2:34.68.

50-meter butterfly: 1. Santo Condorelli, Swimming Canada 23.82, 2. Matthew Josa, SwimMAC 24.10, 3. Tim Phillips, SwimMAC 24.12.

400-meter freestyle: 1. Connor Dwyer, Trojan SC 3:47.37, 2. Zane Grothe, Badger 3:48.40, 3. Connor Jaeger, Club Wolverine 3:48.62.

Sharon Robb can be reached at

SOFLO’s Megan Romano Wins Backstroke At All-Florida Sr. Circuit Meet

By Sharon Robb

May 14, 2016—With the U.S. Olympic Trials six weeks away, Megan Romano is in the midst of one of her final tune-ups at the All-Florida Senior Circuit Meet at Florida Gulf Coast University Aquatics Center.

On Saturday, Romano, 25, a former world champion, won the 100-meter backstroke in 1:02.16, after going 1:02.09 in morning prelims to earn the top seed.

Romano had the fastest seed times in the 50-meter freestyle in 26.28 and 400-meter freestyle in 4:22.75 in prelims before scratching from finals.

The U.S. Olympic hopeful is preparing for the June 26-July 3 Olympic trials in Omaha, Neb. She has been training with SOFLO’s ProFlo group since early January with remarkable progress.

SOFLO teammate Catalina Mendieta, 26, was fifth in the 100-meter backstroke in a best time 1:06.50, improving her previous best time of 1:06.97.

SOFLO’s Santiago Rivera, 19, was fourth in the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:31.43, shaving 4.63 seconds off his previous lifetime best time of 2:36.06. He qualified third in prelims in 2:31.53.

The three-day meet concludes Sunday with prelims at 9 a.m. and finals at 6 p.m.



200-meter butterfly: 1. Isabella Paez, Metro Aquatics 2:11.72, 2. Caroline Cooper, Highlander 2:17.58, 3. Mary Smutny, AquaKids Sharks 2:18.26.

50-meter freestyle: 1. Kaitlyn Schorr, STAR 26.24, 2. Kyla Valls, Miami Swimming 26.93, 3. Caroline Simmons, PAQ 26.94; SOFLO: 9. Ksen Golovkina 27.80, 13. Emiliana Pelaez 28.43, 23. Kelley Heron 29.25; prelims Catalina Mendieta 27.79.

100-meter backstroke: 1. Megan Romano, SOFLO 1:02.16, 2. Karen Vilorio Muchnik, SWIM 1:04.53, 3. Sandra Wilk, SWIM 1:05.71; SOFLO: 5. Catalina Mendieta 1:06.50, best time, 8. Kelley Heron 1:07.54.

400-meter freestyle: 1. Ryley Ober, SRQ 4:23.61, 2. Mary Smutny, AquaKids Sharks 4:24.58, 3. Lani Cabrera, SWIM 4:25.53.

200-meter breaststroke: 1. Christina Loh, Unattached 2:39.55, 2. Elizabeth White, SWIM 2:46.92, 3. Alixandra Roy, Highlander 2:47.94; SOFLO: 5. Kelley Heron 2:51.43, 13. Emiliana Pelaez 2:54.70, best time.


200-meter butterfly: 1. Alexander Arrieta, Metro Aquatics 2:06.21, 2. Campbell Lee, SRQ 2:06.91, 3. Luke Smutny, AquaKids Sharks 2:07.11; SOFLO: 10. Max Asnis 2:12.35, 13. Ervin Marin 2:14.81, best time.

50-meter freestyle: 1. Michael Saco, Miami Swimming 23.68, 2. Brandon Selts, Miami Swimming 24.27, 3. Irvin Hoost, Metro Aquatics 24.66; SOFLO: 15. Santiago Rivera 26.10.

100-meter backstroke: 1. Kevin Lindgren, MART 57.03, 2. Carlos Omana, Metro Aquatics 57.70, 3. Matthew Garcia, SYS 59.63.

400-meter freestyle: 1. Theodore Smith, SRQ 4:01.94, 2. Hayden Curley, Highlander 4:02.01, 3. Daniel Erlenmeyer, SYS 4:07.40; SOFLO: 12. Sam Asnis 4:18.58; 15. Max Asnis 4:25.20, 4:23.52, prelims.

200-meter breaststroke: 1. Campbell Lee, SRQ 2:23.54, 2. Joseph Perez, Metro Aquatics 2:24.00, 3. Carlos Omana, Metro Aquatics 2:29.99; SOFLO: 4. Santiago Rivera 2:31.43, best time, 7. Ervin Marin 2:36.07.

Sharon Robb can be reached at