Bolles Alum Condorelli Wins Again At Arena Pro Swim Series; Murillo, Atkinson Among Top 10

By Sharon Robb

May 14, 2016—Jacksonville Bolles alum Santo Condorelli won his second event Saturday night in the Arena Pro Swim Series at the newly-renovated Mecklenburg County Aquatic Center in Charlotte, N.C.

Condorelli, competing for Canada, won the 50-meter butterfly in 23.82, the only swimmer to crack 24 seconds. In morning prelims, he went 23.77 to earn the top seed.

On Friday, Condorelli, 21, posted the lone sub-53 second time to win the 100-meter butterfly in 52.53.

“I’m working on specific things at this event and trying to fine-tune my performance in preparing for the Olympics,” Condorelli said.

South Florida Aquatic Club three-time Jamaican Olympian Alia Atkinson scratched from the C final of the 200-meter breaststroke to focus on the B final of the 50 butterfly.

Atkinson finished 10th in the 50-meter butterfly final in 27.17. In morning prelims, Atkinson finished 22nd in the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:36.26. In morning prelims, she was 16th in the 50-meter butterfly in 27.92.

SOFLO teammate Jorge Murillo, 24, of Colombia was eighth in the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:20.68.

In Saturday’s other action:

Cammile Adams won the 200-meter butterfly in 2:08.14, her best time of the year.

Mexico’s Jonathan Gomez won the 200-meter butterfly in 1:57.36.

Canadian Chantal Van Landeghem won the 50-meter freestyle in 24.43.

Kylie Masse of Canada turned in the only sub-minute 100-meter backstroke to win in 59.98.

Arkady Vyatchanin won the 100-meter backstroke in 54.80 ahead of Ryan Lochte, second in 55.22.

Anne Lazor won the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:24.96.

Cody Miller won the men’s 200-meter breaststroke in 2:12.22.

Dana Vollmer, looking stronger than ever, won the 50-meter butterfly in 25.87 just ahead of Penny Oleksiak in 25.97.

Leah Smith won the 400-meter freestyle in a pool record in 4:05.21. The four-year record was held by Allison Schmidt in 4:05.40.

Conor Dwyer, training in altitude the last two months, led from wire to wire to win the 400-meter freestyle in 3:47.37.

Anthony Ervin, who recently relocated to SwimMAC, won the 50-meter freestyle in the only sub-22 in 21.98. Condorelli was second in 22.15.

The field features 30 national team members and more than 500 swimmers. The top three finishers win $1,000, $600 and $200. The meet is also a FINA-approved competition where swimmers can achieve qualifying times for the Olympics.

A full schedule of long course events are scheduled for Sunday, the meet’s final day, with prelims at 9 a.m. and finals at 6 p.m.

Only three Arena Pro Swim Series meets remain including this weekend’s event in Charlotte, Santa Clara and Indianapolis.

NBC Sports Live Extra will stream Sunday’s final sessions live. NBC Sports Network will air tape-delayed television coverage of the meet from noon to 3 p.m. The entire meet will also be live streamed at



200-meter butterfly: 1. Cammile Adams, SwimMAC 2:08.14, 2. Jen Marrkand, Unattached 2:09.89, 3. Hannah Saiz, SSTY 2:10.75.

50-meter freestyle: 1. Chantal Van Landeghem, Swimming Canada 24.43, 2. Madison Kennedy, SwimMAC 24.53, 3. Farida Osman, Unattached 25.00

100-meter backstroke: 1. Kylie Masse, Swimming Canada 59.98, 2. Kirsty Coventry, SwimMAC 1:00.12, 3. Ali Deloof, Michigan 1:00.41.

200-meter breaststroke: 1. Anne Lazor, AU 2:24.95, 2. Kierra Smith, Swimming Canada 2:25.06, 3. Lilly King, Indiana 2:25.13; SOFLO: 22. Alia Atkinson 2:36.26.

50-meter butterfly: 1. Dana Vollmer, Cal Aquatics 25.87, 2. Penny Oleksiak, Swimming Canada 25.97, 3. Farida Osman, Unattached 26.11; SOFLO: 10. Alia Atkinson 27.17.

400-meter freestyle: 1. Leah Smith, Unattached 4:05.21, 2. Lindsay Vrooman, Badger 4:07.71, 3. Gillian Ryan, Michigan 4:10.33.


200-meter butterfly: 1. Jonathan Gomez, SCAR 1:57.36, 2. Tyler Clary, SwimMAC 1:58.68, 3. Zach Harting, Louisville 1:59.68.

50-meter freestyle: 1. Anthony Ervin, Unattached 21.98, 2. Santo Condorelli, Swimming Canada 22.15, 3. Josh Schneider, NYAC 22.16.

100-meter backstroke: 1. Javier Acevedo, Swimming Canada 56.38, 2. Markus Thormeyer, Swimming Canada 56.41, 3. Carter Griffin, UMIZ 56.45.

200-meter breaststroke: 1. Cody Miller, Badger 2:12.22, 2. Mauro Castillo Luna, TAMU 2:15.28, 3. Luis Jasso, Mexico 2:15.48; SOFLO: 8. Jorge Murillo 2:20.68, 37. Marc Rojas 2:34.68.

50-meter butterfly: 1. Santo Condorelli, Swimming Canada 23.82, 2. Matthew Josa, SwimMAC 24.10, 3. Tim Phillips, SwimMAC 24.12.

400-meter freestyle: 1. Connor Dwyer, Trojan SC 3:47.37, 2. Zane Grothe, Badger 3:48.40, 3. Connor Jaeger, Club Wolverine 3:48.62.

Sharon Robb can be reached at

Author: South Florida Aquatic Club - SOFLO Swimming

Welcome to the South Florida Aquatic club, a premier community swim team dedicated to providing opportunity and encouragement to all team members, from the beginner to the seasoned Olympic athlete in their pursuit of excellence. The year-round development program for competitive swimming features life-enhancing qualities including integrity, discipline, teamwork, sportsmanship and health and fitness. We invite you to navigate the club’s portal for information about the team.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s