SOFLO’s Alia Atkinson Takes Third On Final Day Of Arena Pro Swim Series

By Sharon Robb

May 15, 2016—Alia Atkinson of South Florida Aquatic Club placed third in the 50-meter breaststroke Sunday on the fourth and final day of the Arena Pro Swim Series at the newly-renovated Mecklenburg County Aquatic Center in Charlotte, N.C.

The 27-year-old three-time Jamaican Olympian was the third fastest qualifier in 31.33 and lowered that time to 30.77 in the final.

Lilly King set a meet and pool record winning the 50-meter breaststroke in 30.34, lowering Atkinson’s previous record of 30.54.

Atkinson was also 47th in 100-meter freestyle in 59.33.

SOFLO teammate Jorge Murillo Valdes of Colombia, eighth in prelims in the 50-meter breaststroke in 28.38, finished eighth again in finals in 28.75.

In Sunday’s other action:

World record holder Ryan Lochte, 31, won the 200-meter individual medley in 1:58.97, just shy of his 2016 world best of 1:58.43.

Cody Miller, 24, of Badger completed a breaststroke sweep winning the 50-meter breaststroke in a pool record 27.39 to lower the existing record of 27.71 set by Mike Alexandrov in 2013.

Leah Smith, 21, swimming unattached won the 800-meter freestyle in 8:27.79, her fastest time of the year.

Caitlin Leverenz, 25, of Cal Aquatics won the 200-meter individual medley in 2:14.44. She led from wire-to-wire.

Canadian Dominique Bouchard won the 200-meter backstroke in 2:09.14.

Arkady Vyatchanin beat Tyler Clary in the 200-meter backstroke in 1:59.09. Clary finished in 1:59.25. The two swam stroke-for-stroke for most of the race.

Canadian Penny Oleksiak won the 100-meter freestyle in 53.41.

Canadian Santo Condorelli won the 100-meter freestyle in 48.41.

Connor Jaeger won the 1500-meter freestyle with a 13-second cushion in 14:59.13.

The top three finishers win $1,000, $600 and $200. The meet was also a FINA-approved competition where swimmers can achieve qualifying times for the Olympics.

Only two Arena Pro Swim Series meets remain including Santa Clara and Indianapolis.



800-meter freestyle: 1. Leah Smith, Unattached 8:27.79, 2. Ashley Twichell, Unattached 8:30.45, 3. Lindsay Vrooman, Badger 8:32.94.

200-meter individual medley: 1. Caitlin Leverenz, Cal Aquatics 2:12.72, 2. Karlee Bispo, Unattached 2:13.96, 3. Siobhan Haughey, Michigan 2:14.60.

200-meter backstroke: 1. Dominique Bouchard, Swimming Canada 2:09.14, 2. Erin Voss, Unattached 2:10.37, 3. Clara Smiddy, Michigan 2:11.22.

50-meter breaststroke: 1. Lilly King, Indiana 30.35, 2. Katie Meilli, SwimMAC 30.42, 3. Alia Atkinson, SOFLO 30.77.

100-meter freestyle: 1. Penny Oleksiask, Swimming Canada 53.41, 2. Chantal Van Landeghem, Swimming Canada 54.13, 3. Dana Vollmer, Cal Aquatics 54.19; SOFLO: 47. Alia Atkinson 59.33.


1500-meter freestyle: 1. Connor Jaeger, Club Wolverine 14:59.13, 2. Zane Grothe, Badger 15:13.29, 3. Ricardo Vargas, Mexico 15:14.18.

200-meter individual medley: 1. Ryan Lochte, SwimMAC 1:58.97, 2. Connor Dwyer, Trojan SC 2:00.90, 3. Norbert Szabo, Unattached 2:01.56.

200-meter backstroke: 1. Arkady Vyatchanin, New York Athletic Club 1:59.09, 2. Tyler Clary, SwimMAC 1:59.25, 3. Carter Griffin, UMIZ 1:59.86.

50-meter breaststroke: 1. Cody Miller, Badger 27.53, 2. Jason Block, Swimming Canada 27.64, 3. Nic Eriksson, QU 27.96; SOFLO: 8. Jorge Murillo Valdes 28.75, 32. Marc Rojas 31.00.

100-meter freestyle: 1. Santo Condorelli, Swimming Canada 48.41, 2. Jimmy Feigen, NYAC 49.56, 3. Yuri Kisil, Swimming Canada 49.60.

Sharon Robb can be reached at

Santander, Valls Win On Final Day Of All-Florida Sr. Circuit Meet

By Sharon Robb

May 15, 2016—Andrea Santander of Pine Crest Swimming and Kyla Valls of Miami Swimming were top local winners at the All-Florida Senior Circuit Meet Sunday at Florida Gulf Coast University Aquatics Center in Fort Myers.

Santander, 14, won the 200-meter individual medley in 2:22.04.

Valls, 17, won the 100-meter freestyle in a best time 56.24. Her previous best was 57.45. She lowered it first in prelims in 56.82.

Guillaume Bolivard, 18, of Swim Fort Lauderdale was the top Florida Gold Coast boys finisher, winning the 100-meter freestyle in a best time 53.25, dropping from 53.64.

South Florida Aquatic Club swimmers did not compete on the third and final day.



800-meter freestyle:

1.Olivia McMurray, SWIM 9:01.57, 2. Alixandra Roy, Highlander 9:02.02, 3. Karen Durnago, Unattached 9:14.16.

200-meter individual medley:

1.Andrea Santander, Pine Crest 2:22.04, 2. Paige Hamilton, Highlander 2:23.08, 3. Caroline Cooper, Highlander 2:23.24.

200-meter backstroke:

1.Ryley Ober, SRQ 2:17.31, 2. Karen Vilorio Muchnik, SWIM 2:21.60, 3. Giulia Guerra Montes, Pine Crest Swimming 2:22.60.

100-meter freestyle:

1.Kyla Valls, Miami Swimming 56.24, 2. Kaitlyn Schorr, STAR 57.64, 3. Isabella Paez, Metro Aquatics 57.84.


1500-meter freestyle:

1.Theodore Smith, SRQ 15:53.00, 2. Hayden Curley, Highlander 15:54.40, 3. Drew Clark, SYS 16:07.59.

200-meter individual medley:

1.Campbell Lee, SRQ 2:09.35, 2. Samuel Smiddy, Unattached 2:10.70, 3. Keanan Dols, SYS 2:11.12.

200-meter backstroke:

1.Keanan Dols, SYS 2:07.14, 2. Matthew Strickland, SWIM 2:10.23, 3. Aitor Fungairino, Metro Aquatics 2:10.28.

100-meter freestyle:

1.Guillaume Bolivard, SFTL 53.25, 2. Irvin Hoost, Metro Aquatics 53.64, 3. Daniel Erlenmeyer, SYS 53.93.

Sharon Robb can be reached at