By Sharon Robb

October 13, 2016—Ervin Marin is a perfect example of where hard work can get you in and out of the pool.

The South Florida Aquatic Club swimmer is a two-time Academic All-American with a 4.0 grade point average at Mater Academy Lakes in Hialeah where he is a senior.

As a member of SOFLO’s National Group, the 16-year-old has steadily improved and qualified for his first USA Swimming Junior Nationals in December.

As a member of his high school swimming team, Marin is working to qualify for his fourth state meet appearance in the 200-yard individual medley and 100-yard breaststroke.

“When I compete I want to do the best I can,” Marin said. “I don’t want to seem like I am struggling and not giving it 100 percent.

“I always wanted to get better,” Marin said. “First I started with getting my time standards in Sectionals and then Futures and then I wanted to get to Junior Nationals and I did.”

SOFLO head coach Chris Anderson has been impressed with Marin’s work ethic since he joined the club in 2013.

“His versatility during training has helped him excel in his IM events,” Anderson said. “He has a very promising college career ahead of him.”

Marin took swim lessons at age 6 at the encouragement of his mother, who wanted him to be water safe. At age 11 he started getting serious about his swimming. He joined SOFLO two years later. He gave up soccer and jujitsu to focus solely on swimming.

“I just started getting better,” Marin said. “I saw I was improving a lot more and thought I could do something.”

Marin got his Junior Nationals cut at this year’s Futures meet. He got his cut in the 200 individual medley by more than a second. “My teammates really motivated me at that meet,” Marin said.

In club swimming, Marin competes in the 200 and 400 IMs, 200 freestyle, 200 breaststroke and 100 butterfly. In his school, he swims the 200 IM and 100 breaststroke.

“My main focus is junior nationals but I am also focused on high school,” Marin said. “I had been trying really hard to get my junior national time and now I can go.”

Swimming has not only provided Marin with discipline when it comes to managing his time and schoolwork but also camaraderie with his teammates.

“I like being with my friends at practices,” Marin said. “I see other people getting better and that makes me want to get better. It pushes me. They go faster and it makes me want to catch them. It’s a competitive atmosphere and we all motivate each other. I always want to get better and improve my times.”

Marin said SOFLO has played a huge role in his improvement.

“I really like it, I am glad I switched from my old club,” he said. “I was getting tired of my old team. I feel great being here. The coaches are great. The training is great. In our group everybody tries, nobody slacks off.”

Each TYR Swimmer of the Month receives a free TYR backpack. TYR, a USA manufacturer of recreational and competitive swimwear, caps, goggles, triathlon gear and accessories, is one of the nation’s top companies.

Sharon Robb can be reached at sha11cats@aol.com

http://www.swim4soflo.com

