By Sharon Robb

November 28, 2016—Jena Legaspi loves living the life of a swimmer.

The South Florida Aquatic Club swimmer is enjoying one of her best seasons in the sport training with SOFLO age group coach Rose Lockie and her Bronze group teammates.

Legaspi, 12, a seventh grader at Pembroke Pines Charter west campus, has been swimming since she was 5-years-old.

“I went on vacation with my family and I didn’t know how to swim,” Legaspi remembered. “My parents wanted me to learn so they put me in a swim school and I really liked it.”

So when Legaspi was 8 she joined her first swim club, South Florida Aquatic Club, and has been improving ever since.

“It’s really fun working with Coach Rose,” Legaspi said. “Sometimes the workout is really hard but that helps me get better.”

Legaspi swims all four strokes, but admits she loves the backstroke. So far she said her best meet has been the SOFLO Halloween Meet last month.

“I improved all my times,” Legaspi said. “Some swimmers were having a bad meet and I thought I was going to have a bad meet, too. But I was really happy when my times improved.”

Legaspi is hoping for another good meet when SOFLO competes at the Dec. 9-11 YCF Winter Classic at the Orlando YMCA.

“That’s the meet I am training for now,” Legaspi said. “I like the competition. It helps you improve. I am pretty competitive. I try to work very hard. I like that about swimming. I like my teammates and swimming with them.

“I would like to get faster, work on my strokes and win more races,” said Legaspi when asked about her goals.

School and swimming doesn’t leave much down time for Legaspi but she’s not complaining.

“I have a tight schedule, my only day off is Sundays,” Legaspi said. “It makes me disciplined but I can’t waste time. I have a schedule. I wake up, go to school, come home, get a snack, go to swimming practice and then go back home.

“I like being healthy and fit because of swimming,” Legaspi said. “If I didn’t do swimming I wouldn’t be doing anything after school except maybe a few clubs. I’m glad I have swimming and the schedule I have.”

Each TYR Swimmer of the Month receives a free TYR backpack.

SOFLO sponsor TYR is a USA manufacturer of recreational and competitive swimwear, caps, goggles, triathlon gear and accessories and one of the nation’s top companies.

Sharon Robb can be reached at sha11cats@aol.com

http://www.swim4soflo.com

