SOFLO’s Super Six Ready For Arena Pro Swim Series Meet At Mesa That Begins Thursday

By Sharon Robb
April 11, 2017—South Florida Aquatic Club will be well-represented at the Arena Pro Swim Series At Mesa that begins Thursday at Skyline Aquatic Center in Arizona.

SOFLO has six swimmers competing in the three-day, long course meters meet.
2016 U.S. Olympic Trials qualifier Kathleen Golding heads the contingent.

Golding is entered in six events: 100-meter freestyle, 100-meter butterfly, 400-meter individual medley, 50-meter freestyle, 100-meter breaststroke and 200-meter individual medley.

Joining Golding are:

Max Asnis, 100-meter butterfly bonus, 200-meter freestyle and 200-meter butterfly.

Kelley Heron, 100-meter freestyle bonus, 200-meter backstroke bonus and 100-meter backstroke.

Luke Lezotte, 100-meter freestyle bonus and 50-meter freestyle.

Ricardo Roche, 400-meter freestyle bonus, 400-meter individual medley and 1,500-meter freestyle.

Rafael Rodriguez, 400-meter freestyle bonus, 400-meter individual bonus and 1,500-meter freestyle.

Day One events feature the 100-meter freestyle, 200-meter breaststroke, 100-meter butterfly and 400-meter freestyle.

The meet features 500 swimmers including Olympic, national and collegiate champions.
With the 2017 World Championships in Hungary right around the corner, and the rest of the world in the midst of hosting world trials meets, U.S. swimmers are looking to get in some good racing. The field is heavily American since most foreign countries are in the midst of world trials.

Olympic gold medalist and world record holder Katie Ledecky, coming off an outstanding freshman year at Stanford, has entered six events including the 200- and 400-meter individual medleys and 100-yard freestyle.

Ledecky was recently named the Honda Sport Award winner for swimming and diving announced by the Collegiate Women Sports Awards. Ledecky will be joined by Stanford teammate Simone Manuel.

College swimmers are competing just three weeks after swimming short course at NCAAs.

Other veteran swimmers entered are Anthony Ervin, Nathan Adrian, Cullen Jones, Josh Schneider, Conor Dwyer, Matt Grevers, Tom Shields, Madison Kennedy, Amanda Weir and former SOFLO swimmer Claire Donahue.

Prize money will be awarded. First place will earn $500, second place $300 and third place $100. Japan’s Daiya Seto and St. Petersburg’s Melanie Margalis are the leaders in the series. Seto will not be competing in Mesa but Margolis has entered five events.

Prelims are 9 a.m. and finals at 5 p.m. MST. The meet, both prelims and finals, will be live streamed at

Sharon Robb can be reached at