Three SOFLO Swimmers Earn Broward All-County First Team Honors

By Sharon Robb

December 26, 2017—-For the second year in a row, South Florida Aquatic Club had three of its high school swimmers earn 2017 Broward All-County first team honors.

Selected by the Sun-Sentinel and announced last week, Kathleen Golding of Cooper City, Kelley Heron of Pembroke Pines Charter and Juan Diaz of Cypress Bay earned first team honors.

Golding, a junior and University of Florida commit, was named to the first team for the third consecutive year. Golding was selected in the 200-yard individual medley and 100-yard freestyle.

Golding is a three-time state champion in the 200-yard individual medley with a best time of 1:59.72. She was a state runner-up in the 100-yard freestyle in 49.79. She was a member of the seventh place 200-yard medley relay team making its state meet debut.

Golding is joined by her high school coach Jill Ankney for the first time. The Cowboys finished 7-1 and were district and region runners-up. The Cowboys were eighth at the state meet with 10 swimmers and two divers.

Heron, a senior and Michigan State commit, was named first team for the second straight year in the 100-yard backstroke. The MVP leaves behind two high school records in the 200-yard individual medley in 2:05.22 and 100-yard backstroke in 56.33.

Diaz made first team on the 400-yard freestyle relay with teammates Diego Machado, Luis Bucaro and Diego Homes with a season-best 3:11.47. Diaz was also among the county’s Top 10 in the 100-yard backstroke and 200-yard freestyle.

Diaz’ high school coach John Spire was named Boys Coach of the Year. The Lightning won BCAA, district and region boys team titles and was 11th at state.

Junior Ricardo Roche of Pembroke Pines Charter and freshman Paige Lane of Cypress Bay earned second team honors. Roche was selected for the 500-yard freestyle and Lane, making her high school debut, was picked in the 200-yard freestyle.

Earning Honorable Mention honors were CJ Kopecki and Kevin Porto of American Heritage Plantation; Heath Brames of Cooper City; Rafael Rodriguez of Pembroke Pines Charter; Juan Serna of West Broward; Sam Quintero of Sagemont; Molly Golding of Cooper City; and Sarah Acevedo of Everglades.

Patrick Groters of NSU University School and Aruba was named the Boys Swimmer of the Year. The University of Denver commit won a state title in the 100-yard backstroke and was state runner-up in the 200-yard individual medley.

Westminster Academy senior and University of Virginia commit Jessica Nava was named Girls Swimmer of the Year for the second consecutive year. She defended her title in the 100-yard butterfly in a state record 53.39 and won the 100-yard backstroke in 55.10

It was one of SOFLO’s finest showings on an all-county team since the program’s inception. Only Broward County swimmers were eligible. The Miami Herald is expected to announce its Broward and Dade all-county teams in January.

Sharon Robb can be reached at

Author: South Florida Aquatic Club - SOFLO Swimming

Welcome to the South Florida Aquatic club, a premier community swim team dedicated to providing opportunity and encouragement to all team members, from the beginner to the seasoned Olympic athlete in their pursuit of excellence. The year-round development program for competitive swimming features life-enhancing qualities including integrity, discipline, teamwork, sportsmanship and health and fitness. We invite you to navigate the club’s portal for information about the team.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: