SOFLO’s Atkinson Wins, Nguyen Makes Two “B” Finals On Final Day Of TYR Pro Swim Series

By Sharon Robb

CLOVIS, Calif., June 16, 2019–After a few disappointing finishes, Alia Atkinson won her first race Saturday on the fourth and final day of the TYR Pro Swim Series Long Course Meet at Clovis North Aquatics Complex.

Atkinson, 30, a four-time Olympian for Jamaica, won the 50-meter breaststroke in 30.69, off her best time of 30.58, that ranks her seventh in the world. She pocketed $1,500 in the race that offered prize money for top three finishes.

Against a less than stellar field, Danielle Hermann of Clovis was second in 31.55 and Melissa Rodriguez of Mexico was third in 31.86.

Atkinson was also eighth in the “B” final of the 100-meter freestyle in 58.47.

SOFLO teammate Vietnamese Olympian Vien Nguyen, 22, was fourth in the “B” final of the 200-meter individual medley in 2:21.31 and seventh in the “B” final of the 200-meter backstroke in 2:24.76.

Other event winners were:

Eighteen-year-old Erica Sullivan of Sandpipers of Nevada won the 1500-meter freestyle timed final in 15:55.25, nearly a minute ahead of Mackenzie Padington of HPC Vancouver in 16:56.58. It was a career-best time for the teenager and first time she cracked 16 minutes.

Egypt’s Akaram Mahmoud pulled away in the final 100 meters to win the men’s 1500-meter freestyle in 15:26.12. Chris Weiser of Dart Swimming was second in 15:29.67.

Canadian Sydney Pickrem won her fourth event of the meet, this time in the 200-meter individual medley in 2:11.78. She won her signature event by nearly two seconds. Emily Overholt of HPC Vancouver was second in 2:13.45.

Teenager Luca Urlando of Dart Swimming won the men’s 200-meter individual medley in 2:00.12, a lifetime-best. Another teenager, Jarod Arroyo, was a distant second in 2:03.29.

Sixteen-year-old Isabelle Stadden of Aqua Jets won the 200-meter backstroke in 2:08.67 ahead of Pickrem in 2:13.17.

Canadian Trials champion Markus Thormeyer won the 200-meter backstroke in 1:59.24, the only swimmer below 2 minutes. Andy Song of Mexico was second in 2:02.73.

Brandon Fischer of Livermore Aquatics won the 50-meter breaststroke in 27.26, second fastest time for a U.S. swimmer this year. It was his third lifetime-best.

Mallory Comerford of Louisville won the 100-meter freestyle in 53.90. Kelsi Worrell Dahlia of the Cardinals was second in 54.56.

Michael Chadwick of Team Elite won the 100-meter freestyle in 48.70 ahead of Cristian Quintero of Trojan Swim Club in 49.43.

Cody Miller and Olivia Smoliga won the 2019 Pro Swim Series title winning $10,000 each for the top FINA point swims of the tour. Michael Andrew led all money winners during the series with $25,750. Atkinson was 44th on the list with $3,500.

SOFLO is a TYR-sponsored club. It was the second year TYR was the title sponsor of the pro series. It was the Arena Pro Swim Series for the first three years.

The series offered prize money for first, second and third place finishes. First place earned $1,500, second $1,000 and third place $500. All prize money was distributed by USA Swimming.

Sharon Robb can be reached at