St. Thomas Aquinas Girls, Fort Lauderdale Boys Capture District 11-3A Team Titles; SOFLO’s Torres, Rodriguez, Lesage, Harris Win

By Sharon Robb

OCTOBER 29, 2019–Host Fort Lauderdale boys defended their title and St. Thomas girls won their first in the District 11-3A Swimming and Diving Championship Tuesday at the Flying L’s Aquatic Center.

The Raiders won with an impressive 627 points among the girls’ eight-team field. Fort Lauderdale was runner-up with 338 and Pembroke Pines Charter third with 330.

St. Thomas Aquinas swept all three girls relays and won every individual event except the 100-yard freestyle.

St. Thomas Aquinas senior Gina Fimiano was a double winner in the 200-yard individual medley in 2:18.04 and 100-yard breaststroke in 1:07.81.

St. Thomas Aquinas swept the girls’ 100-yard butterfly with sophomore Anabela Shearer, Teresa Landron and Sofia Avellaneda.

Other individual winners for the Raiders were Gabriella Chambers, Callie James and Lalainie Bannister.

St. Thomas Aquinas freshman Kaitlyn Ross won the girls 1-meter diving with 432.40 points. There was no boys diving.

The Flying L’s boys won the team title with 476 points among the boys’10-team field. Pembroke Pines Charter was second with 396 and St. Thomas Aquinas third with 378.

Fort Lauderdale won the boys’ 200-yard medley and 400-yard freestyle relays.

The Flying L’s had three individual winners, Matthew Gocke, Daniel Lilley and Dylan Felt.

South Florida Aquatic Club swimmers had a good day.

Pembroke Pines Charter sophomore Victoria Torres, who overcame an early-season injury, won the 100-yard freestyle in 56.74 ahead of Fort Lauderdale junior Luiza Patrocinio in 56.92.

St. Thomas Aquinas junior Lance Lesage was a double winner. He won the 100-yard backstroke in 51.57 and 100-yard freestyle in 47.86.

Pembroke Pines Charter senior Rafael Rodriguez won the 200-yard individual medley in 1:57.12, the only swimmer under 2 minutes in the field. He was also second in the 100-yard butterfly in 52.36 in an exciting race against district champion Renato Herran of Plantation who won in 52.35.

Pembroke Pines Charter freshman Zackary Harris won the 100-yard breaststroke in 1:07.53, out-touching St. Thomas Aquinas senior Ian Hamilton by 1/100th of a second (1:07.54).

Harris and Rodriguez were also members of the winning 200-yard freestyle relay along with Ryan Alfonso and Christian Vasquez in 1:33.84.

The top two finishers in each event from each district meet as well as the next overall best times at-large for a field of 24 from the remaining best times among top 16 finishers in the district meets will move on to regions.

For relays, the district champion advances plus the next overall best times at-large for a field of 16 from the remaining best times among eight finishers.

In diving, the top two in each district plus 18 at-large spots from the divers who placed in the top 16 in district meets. All divers must meet the minimum qualifying score of 280 points in the district meet.

St. Thomas Aquinas will host the Region 4-3A Swimming and Diving Championships Nov. 8 at Plantation Central Park Aquatic Center. The timed finals only swimming begins 11:30 a.m. and diving 10:35 a.m. at Boca Raton High School.

1. St. Thomas Aquinas 627, 2. Fort Lauderdale 338.5, 3. Pembroke Pines Charter 330, 4. Archbishop McCarthy 264, 5. Nova 112, 6. McArthur 111, 7. Northeast 84.5, 8. Dillard 27.


200-yard medley relay:
1. St. Thomas Aquinas 1:56.37 (Lalainie Bannister, Isabella Nigro, Samantha Litman, Gina Fimiano), 2. Fort Lauderdale 2:01.49, 3. Pembroke Pines Charter 2:01.51.

200-yard freestyle:
1. Gabriella Chambers, STA 1:59.16, 2. Olivia Wiebe, STA 2:01.69, 3. Daniela Barreto, PPC 2:08.14.

200-yard individual medley:
1. Gina Fimiano, STA 2:18.04, 2. Rylie Barnhardt, FTL 2:18.58, 3. Megan Smith, STA 2:23.96.

50-yard freestyle:
1. Callie James, STA 26.13, 2. Syven Walker, ABM 26.58, 4. Luiza Patrocinio, FTL 26.62.

1-meter springboard diving:
1. Kaitlyn Ross, STA 432.40, 2. Emma Murray, STA 336.90, 3. Julia Maier, FTL 280.00.

100-yard butterfly:
1. Anabela Shearer, STA 1:02.78, 2. Teresa Landron, STA 1:03.66, 3. Sofia Avellaneda, STA 1:06.86.

100-yard freestyle:
1. Victoria Torres, PPC 56.74, 2. Luiza Patrocinio, FTL 56.92, 3. Alexia Tremellen, STA 57.17.

500-yard freestyle:
1. Gabriella Chambers, STA 5:18.68, 2. Rylie Barnhardt, FTL 5:19.85, 3. Olivia Wieber, STA 5:19.95.

200-yard freestyle relay:
1. St. Thomas Aquinas 1:44.83 (Teresa Landron, Callie Jordan, Gina Fimiano, Gabriela Chambers), 2. Fort Lauderdale 1:46.83, 3. Archbishop McCarthy 1:50.38.

100-yard backstroke:
1. Lalainie Bannister, STA 1:03.22, 2. Anabela Shearer, STA 1:03.37, 3. Jena Legaspi, PPC 1:04.05.

100-yard breaststroke:
1. Gina Fimiano, STA 1:07.81, 2. Samantha Trodick, NOVA 1:07.97, 3. Victoria Torres, PPC 1:09.01.

400-yard freestyle relay:
1. St. Thomas Aquinas 3:50.12 (Lalainie Bannister, Teresa Landron, Samantha Litman, Gabriella Chambers), 2. Pembroke Pines Charter 4:00.07, 3. Archbishop McCarthy 4:17.29.

1. Fort Lauderdale 476, 2. Pembroke Pines Charter 396.5, 3. St. Thomas Aquinas 378, 4. Archbishop McCarthy 209, 5. Nova 174.5, 6. Northeast 91, 7. McArthur 56, 8. Plantation 49, 9. Dillard 22, 10. Ely 4.


200-yard medley relay:
1. Fort Lauderdale 1:42.55 (Daniel Givskov, Myles Felt, Dominick Mitchell, Daniel Lilley), 2. St. Thomas Aquinas 1:43.46, 3. Archbishop McCarthy 1:52.67.

200-yard freestyle:
1. Matthew Gocke, FTL 1:51.79, 2. Steven Grady, STA 1:52.14, 3. Orlando Saballos, NOVA 1:54.37.

200-yard individual medley:
1. Rafael Rodriguez, PPC 1:57.12, 2. Myles Felt, FTL 2:07.09, 3. Zackary Harris, PPC 2:10.04.

50-yard freestyle:
1. Daniel Lilley, FTL 22.27, 2. David Garzon, STA 23.78, 3. Charles Burnette, STA 24.12.

1-meter springboard diving:

100-yard butterfly:
1. Renato Herran, PLAN 52.35, 2. Rafael Rodriguez, PPC 52.36, 3. Jack Faulkner, STA 55.65.

100-yard freestyle:
1. Lance Lesage, STA 47.86, 2. Daniel Lilley, FTL 49.28, 3. Daviel Givskov, FTL 49.64.

500-yard freestyle:
1. Dylan Felt, FTL 4:51.14, 2. Nathaniel Garrick, ABM 5:05.85, 3. Steven Grady, STA 5:08.10.

200-yard freestyle relay:
1. Pembroke Pines Charter 1:33.84 (Ryan Alfonso, Christian Vasquez, Zackary Harris, Rafael Rodriguez), 2. St. Thomas Aquinas 1:36.31, 3. Fort Lauderdale 1:37.35.

100-yard backstroke:
1. Lance Lesage, STA 51.57, 2. Jack Faulkner, STA 54.84, 3. Daniel Givskov, FTL 56.36.

100-yard breaststroke:
1. Zackary Harris, PPC 1:07.53, 2. Ian Hamilton, STA 1:07.54, 3. Gabriel Ferdinand, PPC 1:09.99.

400-yard freestyle relay:
1. Fort Lauderdale 3:19.96 (Daniel Givskov, Dylan Felt, Georgy Goncharov, Daniel Lilley), 2. St. Thomas Aquinas 3:26.09, 3. Pembroke Pines Charter 3:29.37.

Sharon Robb can be reached at

Author: South Florida Aquatic Club - SOFLO Swimming

Welcome to the South Florida Aquatic club, a premier community swim team dedicated to providing opportunity and encouragement to all team members, from the beginner to the seasoned Olympic athlete in their pursuit of excellence. The year-round development program for competitive swimming features life-enhancing qualities including integrity, discipline, teamwork, sportsmanship and health and fitness. We invite you to navigate the club’s portal for information about the team.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s