SOFLO’s Miguel Cancel Wins, Julio Horrego, Lance Lesage Have Top 10 Finishes Against Sarasota Field On Final Day Of Toyota U.S. Open

By Sharon Robb
SARASOTA, November 14, 2020–South Florida Aquatic Club’s Miguel Cancel, Julio Horrego and Lance Lesage got in some good racing on the third and final day of the Toyota U.S. Open Saturday at Selby Aquatic Center.

Cancel, 21, of University of Florida won the 200-meter butterfly in a best time 2:01.58 and finished 15th overall. He dropped 1.13 off his previous best.

Horrego, 22, was seventh in the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:23.25 and 60th overall.

Lesage, 18, was tenth in the 200-meter backstroke in 2:08.22 and 63rd overall.

Twelve-time Olympic medalist Ryan Lochte was noticeably upset after competing “in my worst meet that I’ve ever had.”

Lochte, 36, finished third in the 200-meter individual medley in 2:01.05 on Friday, behind winner Chase Kalisz in 1:59.72 after all nine meet results were combined.

Lochte was also 26th in the 200 freestyle and 51st in the 100 backstroke. Lochte was 24th in the 200 backstroke on Saturday and scratched from the 100 freestyle.

“I do not like swimming this bad,” said Lochte, seeking to make his fifth Olympic team. “When I get back home, I’m going to start turning it up again. I need to be racing at least once a month with really good competitors. I don’t want to lose that confidence. I don’t know if I’m mentally tired. I know I’m physically tired. I love getting on those blocks and racing again.”

Aspen Gersper of St. Andrew’s School in Boca Raton finished fourth in the 100-meter freestyle in 57.43. She will also compete in Sunday’s FHSAA State 1A Meet in Stuart. The meet was moved from Friday because of Tropical Storm Eta.

The Toyota USA Open was the first major U.S. meet since the COVID-19 pandemic shut down swimming in mid-March.

Because of COVID-19 travelling and group size restrictions, the U.S. Open was held at nine different sites across the United States. The U.S. Open was originally scheduled for Atlanta in December.

Each site hosted a small group of swimmers and followed the same format. Results were combined from all nine sites (which are listed below).

In addition to Sarasota, other sites were Tualatin Hills Aquatic Center in Beaverton, Ore.; Wellmark YMCA of Des Moines, Iowa; Greensboro Aquatic Center in North Carolina; Huntsville Aquatics Center in Alabama; Indiana University Natatorium in Indianapolis; William Woollett Jr. Aquatics Center in Irvine, Calif., Swim RVA in Richmond, Va.; and North East ISD Blossom Athletic Complex in San Antonio, Texas.

For COVID-19 safety reasons the venues had limited capacity.


1,500-meter freestyle: 1. Michaela Mattes, SYS 16:51.97, 2. Maria Victoria Yegres, Azura 17:15.94, 3. Anna Auld, ECAC 17:20.51.

200-meter backstroke: 1. Emma Weyant, SYS 2:13.77, 2. Celina Marquez, Azura 2:13.83, 3. Jordan Agliano, HIGH 2:15.21.

100-meter freestyle: 1. Micayla Cronk, BD 55.97, 2. Ella Bathurst, TEAM 56.46, 3. Marina Spadoni, Unattached 56.66, 4. Aspen Gersper, SA 57.43.

200-meter breaststroke: 1. Gracie Weyant, SYS 2:32.85, 2. Emma Weyant, SYS 2:34.04, 3. Eliza Brown, Unattached 2:37.23.

200-meter butterfly: 1.Addison Reese, LAKR 2:15.91, 2. Isabel Traba, MIA 2:17.26, 3. Lockett Bowley, BD 2:17.26.

1,500-meter freestyle: 1. Bobby Finke, UF 15:09.14, 2. Liam Custer, SYS 15:35.69, 3. Brennan Gravley, UF 15:36.65, 6. Joaquin Vargas, Azura 16:13.64.

200-meter backstroke: 1. Clark Beach, UF 2:00.21, 2. Yeziel Morales, Azura 2:01.68, 3. Amadeusz Knop, SYS 2:03.41, 5. Ryan Lochte, GSC 2:03.83, 6. Miguel Cancel, UF 2:04.23, time drop (1.91), 10. Lance Lesage, SOFLO 2:08.22.

100-meter freestyle: 1. Jan Friese, UF 49.91, 2. Kieran Smith, UF 49.93, 3. Brett Fraser, NYAC 50.73, 7. Andrea DiArrigo, GSC 51.46, 16. Jayhan Odlum-Smith, Azura 53.19, Ryan Lochte, NS.

200-meter breaststroke: 1. Nils Wich-Glasen, GSC 2:15.49, 2. Amro Al-Wir, UF 2:16.10, 3. Kevin Vargas, UF 2:16.50, 7. Julio Horrego, SOFLO 2:23.25.

200-meter butterfly: 1. Miguel Cancel, UF 2:01.58, 2. Mason Laur, T2 2:01.59, 3. Victor Rosado, SPA 2:02.49, 4. Gabriel Araya, Azura 2:02.85.


800-meter freestyle: 1. Arabella Sims, Nevada Sandpipers 8:27.01, trials time.

400-meter freestyle: 1. Emma Weyant, Sarasota Sharks 4:10.38, trials cut; 62. Mallory Schleicher, SOFLO 4:27.96.

200-meter individual medley: 1. Madisyn Cox, Longhorn Aquatics 2:10.49, trials cut.

50-meter freestyle: 1. Gretchen Walsh, Nashville Aquatic Club 24.65, trials cut.

400-meter individual medley: 1. Emma Weyant, SYS 4:40.84, 44. Mallory Schleicher, SOFLO 4:59.87.

100-meter butterfly: 1. Clair Curzan, TAC 56.61, 38. Heidi Smithwick, Jupiter 1:01.58.

200-meter freestyle: 1. Paige Madden, UVA 1:57.64.

100-meter breaststroke: 1. Anna Elendt, TEX 1:07.50, 80. Heidi Smithwick, Jupiter 1:13.88.

100-meter backstroke: 1. Kathleen Baker, TE 59.82.

1500-meter freestyle: 1. Erica Sullivan, SAND 16:04.37, 29. Anna Auld, ECAC 17:20.51.

200-meter backstroke: 1. Phoebe Bacon, Unattached 2:09.16, 10. Celina Marquez, Azura 2:13.83.

100-meter freestyle: 1. Victoria Huske, AAC 54.04.

200-meter breaststroke: 1. Madisyn Cox, TXLA 2:27.55.

200-meter butterfly: 1. Regan Smith, RIPT 2:08.61.

800-meter freestyle: 1. Marwan El Kamash, Indiana Swim Club 7:52.19.

400-meter freestyle: 1. Kiernan Smith, Florida 3:48.78, trials cut.

200-meter individual medley: 1. Chase Kalisz, Athens Bulldogs 1:59.72, trials cut.

50-meter freestyle: 1. Santo Condorelli, Dolphins Swim team 22.27.

400-meter individual medley: 1. Carson Foster, TEX 4:16.51, 16. Miguel Cancel, UF 4:28.00.

100-meter butterfly: 1. Luis Martinez, Unattached 51.50.

200-meter freestyle: 1. Kieran Smith,UF 1:47.29.

100-meter breaststroke: 1. Andrew Wilson, Athens Bulldogs 59.58, 3. Ilya Evdokimov, PRVT 1:00.47, 5. Jorge Murillo, TAC 1:00.85, 51. Julio Horrego, SOFLO 1:04.60.

100-meter backstroke: 1. Jack Aikins, SA 54.59, 51. Ryan Lochte, GSC 57.41, 70. Lance Lesage, SOFLO 58.29.

1,500-meter freestyle: 1. Bobby Finke, UF 15:09.14, 33. Marcelo Acosta, CARD 16:07.97, 40. Joaquin Vargas, Azura 16:13.64.

200-meter backstroke: 1. William Grant, VS 1:59.52, 24. Ryan Lochte, GSC 2:03.83, 32. Miguel Cancel, UF 2:04.23, time drop, 63. Lance Lesage, SOFLO 2:08.22.

100-meter freestyle: 1. Andrej Barna, CARD 48.75, 59. Andrea D’Arrigo, GSC 51.46.

200-meter breaststroke: 1. Andrew Wilon, ABSC 2:09.83, 6. Jorge Murillo, TAC 2:14.92, 15. Ilya Evdokimov, PRVT 2:16.81, 60. Julio Horrego, SOFLO 2:23.25.

200-meter butterfly: 1. Zach Harting, CARD 1:57.82, 15. Miguel Cancel, UF 2:01.58, time drop.

Sharon Robb can be reached at

Author: South Florida Aquatic Club - SOFLO Swimming

Welcome to the South Florida Aquatic club, a premier community swim team dedicated to providing opportunity and encouragement to all team members, from the beginner to the seasoned Olympic athlete in their pursuit of excellence. The year-round development program for competitive swimming features life-enhancing qualities including integrity, discipline, teamwork, sportsmanship and health and fitness. We invite you to navigate the club’s portal for information about the team.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: