Olivia Dinehart, Miguel Sierra Top SOFLO Finishers On Day Two Of TYR 18&Under Spring Cup

By Sharon Robb
ORLANDO, April 30, 2021—Olivia Dinehart and Miguel Sierra were top finishers for South Florida Aquatic Club in the TYR 18&Under Spring Cup Friday at Rosen Aquatic & Fitness Center.

Dinehart, 16, was fourth in the 100-meter breaststroke in 1:14.24. Dinehart was also sixth in the 400-meter individual medley in 5:03.91.

Sierra, 18, was fourth in the 100-meter butterfly in 56.09.

SOFLO’s Juan Mora won the “B” final in the 100-meter breaststroke in 1:05.54.

Maddie Smutny, 15, was second in the “C” final of the 200-meter freestyle in 2:07.40. Elena Dinehart, 16, was fourth in the “C” final in 2:08.11.

Smutny was also third in the “C” final of the 100-meter butterfly in 1:04.99.

Dominic Bono, 17, was fourth in the “B” final in the 400-meter individual medley in 4:41.71.

The USA Swimming long course meter competition features four host sites across the country, all scheduled from Thursday through Sunday.

The meet was created in March as an additional opportunity for in-person competition for young swimmers to earn qualifying cuts for the U.S. Olympic Team Trials in June in Omaha, Nebraska.

USA Swimming was recently made aware of California Department of Health restrictions that will no longer allow out-of-state teams to compete at the Woollett Aquatics Center in Irvine, Calif., location of the TYR 18&Under Spring Cup.

Affected teams have the opportunity to attend any of the other three sites at Wellmark YMCA in Des Moines, Iowa; SwimRVA in Richmond, Va. or Orlando, if they choose. It is the only geographical exemption permitted.

The event is the third national event for 18&Under swimmers hosted by USA Swimming since December 2020, following the 18&Under Winter Championships and the 18&Under Spring Virtual Championships.

Prelims and finals events are Friday through Sunday 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Saturday’s events are: 200-meter butterfly, 50-meter freestyle, 200-meter breaststroke, 100-meter backstroke and 400-meter freestyle.

The meet is being live streamed on iSWIMTV and will be updated on social media @iSWIMTV.

WOMEN TEAM TOTALS: 1. Blue Dolfins 96, 2. Y-Spartaquatics 83, 3. Tampa Elite 52, 4. Flying Fish Arizona 45, 5. Area Tallahassee 42, 6. St. Andrew’s 37, 10. South Florida Aquatic Club 29, 20. Jupiter 15.

200-meter freestyle:

  1. Summer Cardwell, TBAC 2:00.88, 2. Sara Stotler, PSA 2:01.60, 3. Micayla Cronk, BD 2:02.08; FGC: 9. Aspen Gersper, SAS 2:07.06, 11. Erin Miller, SAS 2:07.60, SOFLO: 18. Maddie Smutny 2:07.40, 20. Elena Dinehart 2:08.11.

100-meter breaststroke:

  1. Kelly Wetteland, PA 1:11.96, 2. Delaney Franklin, YSSC 1:13.25, 3. Ella Bathurst, TEAM 1:13.37; SOFLO: 4. Olivia Dinehart 1:14.24; FGC: 11. Reese Andres, SAS 1:16.86.

100-meter butterfly:

  1. Sara Stotler, PSA 59.58, 2. Jordan Agliano, HIGH 1:00.22, 3. Kiley Wilhelm, LTNC 1:00.26; SOFLO: 19. Maddie Smutny 1:04.99; FGC: 4. Heidi Smithwick, JUP 1:00.48, 14. Aspen Gersper, SAS 1:03.81.

400-meter individual medley:

  1. Sumner Chmielewski, SRQ 4:55.71, 2. Hayden Penny, YSSC 4:59.99, 3. Paige Housman, FAST 5:00.58; SOFLO: 6. Olivia Dinehart 5:03.91; FGC: 9. Erin Miller, SAS 5:07.27.

MEN TEAM TOTALS: 1. North Carolina Aquatic Club 94, 2. T2 Aquatics 66, 3. Area Tallahassee 50, 4. Blue Dolfins 44, 5. Sarasota Tsunami 40, 11. South Florida Aquatic Club 29, 15. North Palm Beach 16, 22. Miami Country Day 13, 25. St. Andrew’s 8, 26. Hurricane Aquatics 7.

200-meter freestyle:

  1. Samuel Hoover, NCAC 1:51.05, 2. Roman Valdez, CCAC 1:51.98, 3. Varis Monroe, NPB 1:53.39; FGC: 17. Patrick Doyle, SUN 1:57.49.

100-meter breaststroke:

  1. Matthew Fallon, Unattached 1:01.57, 2. Henry Bethel, CCAC 1:02.00, 3. Luke Shourds, RACE 1:03.40; SOFLO: 9. Juan Mora 1:05.54; FGC: 10. Giulian Martin, CANE 1:05.69, 11. Dylan Smiley MCDA 1:06.84, 15. Maximilian Zum Tobel, SAS 1:08.52.

100-meter butterfly:

  1. Holden Smith, RPC 54.79, 2. Mason Laur, T2 55.28, 3. Davis Hanley, BD 55.79; SOFLO: 4. Miguel Sierra 56.09; FGC: 10. Dylan Smiley, MCDA 57.49, 11. Ryan Nordheim, SAS 57.54.

400-meter individual medley:

  1. Jay Baker, NCAC 4:24.72, 2. Peter Bretzmann, NCAC 4:25.46, 3. Matthew Fallon, Unattached 4:25.67; SOFLO: 12. Dominic Bono 4:41.71.

Sharon Robb can be reached at sha11cats@aol.com

Author: South Florida Aquatic Club - SOFLO Swimming

Welcome to the South Florida Aquatic club, a premier community swim team dedicated to providing opportunity and encouragement to all team members, from the beginner to the seasoned Olympic athlete in their pursuit of excellence. The year-round development program for competitive swimming features life-enhancing qualities including integrity, discipline, teamwork, sportsmanship and health and fitness. We invite you to navigate the club’s portal for information about the team.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s