Keiser University Seahawks Capture First NAIA Women’s Title; Adam Epstein Named NAIA Coach Of The Year

By Sharon Robb
COLUMBUS, Ga., March 7, 2022—Keiser University women’s swim team won its first National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) Championship this past weekend.

The Seahawks finished with 33 individual All-Americans, five All-American relay teams, four relay national championship teams and seven individual national champions.

Adam Epstein was named NAIA Coach of the Year for the second time. Marine Lecomte was selected NAIA Swimmer of the Year.

The top five team finishers were: Keiser, 785; SCAD-Savannah, 469; Olivet Nazarene, 410.5; Cumberlands, 324; Milligan, 262.

Among Keiser winners:
Stefania Sofoulis, 1650-yard freestyle in 17:29.67.

Lecomte, 200-yard backstroke in 1:58.87.

Biltoft-Jensen won her second national title in the 200-yard breaststroke in 2:17.00.

Hudson, 200-yard butterfly in 2:03.86, tying the school record.

Keiser ended the meet with a win in the 400-yard freestyle relay in 3:27.59 with Aubrey Bach, Augustsson, Aspegren and Hudson.

Keiser finished 3-4-6 in the 100-yard freestyle with Timea Aspegren (52.07) Emma Sofie Augustsson (52.33), Camryn Hudson (52.33) and Danai Sofoulis (52.50).

Keiser is raising funds for a new aquatic center on the flagship campus. The aquatic center will provide a home for the swim teams, catalyst for sports tourism in South Florida and venue for children in the community to learn to swim.

On Wednesday, Nov. 2, Keiser’s flagship campus will host a special Community Leader Campaign dinner event with a keynote address from 12-time Olympic medalist Dara Torres.

The 100-acre flagship campus, student life center and residential campus are in West Palm Beach.

Keiser provides educational programs at the undergraduate, graduate and doctorate levels in both traditional and online delivery formats. The school is institutionally accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Sharon Robb can be reached at

Bolles Sweeps Team Titles; Pelaez, Weyant Double Winners On Final Day Of Piranhas Senior Invitational

By Sharon Robb
PLANTATION, March 6, 2022—Bolles School Sharks’ 55-swimmer contingent dominated the Piranhas Senior Invitational at the Plantation Aquatic Complex.

Bolles won the combined team title with 4,625.5 points ahead of Azura Florida Aquatics with 2,914.5 and Eagle Aquatics with 1,187.

Bolles won the men’s team title with 2,736.5 points followed by Azura with 1,495 points and host Plantation Swim Team with 561.

Bolles won the women’s team title with 1,785 points. Azura was second with 1,191 and Sarasota Sharks were third with 641.

U.S. junior national teammates and 2020 U.S. Olympic trials qualifiers Erika Pelaez of Eagle Aquatics and Gracie Weyant of Sarasota Sharks were double winners.

Pelaez, 15, won the 50-meter freestyle shootout in 26.36 and 100-meter backstroke in 1:03.16. She finished with 212 points.

Weyant, 16, won the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:31.56 and 200-meter individual medley in 2:15.94. She had 179 points.

Other individual winners were:
Bailey O’Regan of Sarasota Sharks in the 1500-meter freestyle in 17:32.40. Her 800 split was 9:16.80.

Athena Meneses Kovas of Azura won the 100-meter butterfly in 1:01.87.

Gabriel Araya of Azura won the 800-meter freestyle in 8:39.08.

Kaii Winkler of Eagle Aquatics won the 50-meter freestyle in 24.83.

Harrison Herrera of Bolles won the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:20.34.

Martin Espernberger of Bolles won the 100-meter butterfly in 54.34.

Liam Custer won the 200-meter individual medley in 2:07.22.

Jack Harvey, swimming unattached, won the 100-meter backstroike in 57.23.

: 1. Bolles 4,625.5, 2. Azura Florida Aquatics 2,914.5, 3. Eagle Aquatics 1,187, 4. Sarasota Sharks 878, 5. Plantation Swim Team 836, 12. South Florida Aquatic Club 331.5.

MEN TEAM TOTALS: 1. Bolles 2,736.5, 2. Azura 1,495.5, 3. Plantation Swim Team 561, 4. Eagle Aquatics 463, 5. Tornadoes Swim Club 398.5, 7. SOFLO 238.5.

WOMEN TEAM TOTALS: 1. Bolles 1,785, 2. Azura 1,191, 3. Sarasota Sharks 641, 4. Eagle Aquatics 604, 5. Midtown Weston Aquatics 426., 13. SOFLO 93.

1500-meter freestyle: 1. Bailey O’Regan, SYS 17:32.40, 2. Kate Anderson, BSS 17:35.30, 3. Addison Sauickie, SYS 17:38.63.

50-meter freestyle: 1. Erika Pelaez, EA 26.36, 2. Addison Sauickie, SYS 27.37.

200-meter breaststroke: 1. Gracie Weyant, SYS 2:31.56, 2. Nicole Frank Rodriguez, AZ 2:34.04, 3. Micaela Sierra, AZ 2:36.86.

100-meter butterfly: 1. Athena Meneses Kovacs, AZ 1:01.87, 2. Erika Pelaez, EA 1:02.15, 3. Emma Harvey, UN 1:02.62.

200-meter individual medley: 1. Gracie Weyant, SYS 2:15.94, 2. Nicole Frank Rodriguez, AZ 2:19.04, 3. Michaela Mattes, SYS 2:19.33.

100-meter backstroke: 1. Erika Pelaez, EA 1:03.16, 2. Faith Khoo, BSS 1:05.08, 3. Jillian Crooks, TSA 1:07.88.

800-meter freestyle: 1. Gabriel Araya, AZ 8:39.08, 2. Sauod Alshamroukh, AZ 8:39.12, 3. Jahir Lopez, AZ 8:48.84.

50-meter freestyle: 1. Kaii Winkler, EA 24.83, 2. Miguel Rojas Newman, BSS 25.41.

200-meter breaststroke: 1. Harrison Herrera, BSS 2:20.34, 2. William Heck, BSS 2:22.00, 3. Eldad Zamir, BSS 2:25.14.

100-meter butterfly: 1. Martin Espernberger, BSS 54.34, 2. Carlos Vasquez, UN 55.19, 3. Davidson Vincent, AZ 55.62.

200-meter individual medley: 1. Liam Custer, SYS 2:07.22, 2. Amadeusz Knop, SYS 2:07.81, 3. Esteban Nunez Del Prado, AZ 2:08.34.

100-meter backstroke: 1. Jack Harvey, UN 57.23, 2. Max Wilson, STSA 57.53, 3. Kaii Winkler, EA 59.40.

Sharon Robb can be reached at