Sullivan, Johnston Win On Opening Day; SOFLO’s Horrego Races Thursday At TYR Pro Swim Series

By Sharon Robb
MISSION VIEJO, Calif., June 1, 2022–Erica Sullivan and David Johnston won their opening events at the fourth and final TYR Pro Swim Series Wednesday at newly-renovated Marguerite Aquatic Center.

Sullivan, 21, of University of Texas and 2020 Olympic silver medalist, won the women’s 1500-meter freestyle in 16:34.91. It was the top seed’s first meet since suffering a shoulder injury in April. Teenager Mattea Sokolow, 17, of Team Santa Monica was runner-up in a best time 16:59.96. She dropped four seconds.

David Johnston, 20, also of the University of Texas, won the men’s 1500-meter freestyle in 15:18.32. Egyptian Olympian Marwan Aly El Kamash, 28, of Indiana Swim Club was second in 15:32.02.

There were only four heats in the men’s and women’s events.

South Florida Aquatic Club’s Julio Horrego will compete in his first event of the four-day meet on Thursday in the 100-meter breaststroke. He is seeded third in the 100 in 1:01.18.

Horrego, 23, a 2020 Honduran Olympian, will also swim the 200-meter breaststroke where he is seeded fourth in the 200 in 2:17.35. It is his final tuneup meet before the 19th FINA World Championships, June 18-July 3 in Budapest, Hungary.

Horrego is joined by teammate Ricardo Roche, 22, who competes in the 200-meter backstroke on Friday.

The meet is being televised on the Olympic Channel Thursday and Friday at 8 p.m. On Saturday and Sunday it will be televised on CNBC tape-delay at 10:30 a.m. and 4 p.m. respectively.

In addition to Olympic Channel and CNBC’s coverage from Mission Viejo, daily prelims (Thursday-Saturday at noon ET) as well as Saturday’s live finals can be streamed on

SOFLO is sponsored by TYR, a USA manufacturer of recreational and competitive swimwear, caps, goggles, triathlon gear and accessories. One of the nation’s top companies, TYR was created by athletes and named for the Norse god of warriors in Germanic mythology.


1500-meter freestyle: 1. Erica Sullivan, TEX 16:34.91, 2. Mattea Sokolow, TSM 16:59.96, 3. Olivia McMurray, TEX 17:03.35.

1500-meter freestyle: 1. David Johnston, TST 15:18.32, 2. Marwan Aly El Kamash, ISC 15:32.02, 3. Isaac Fleig, TST 15:42.80.

Sharon Robb can be reached at

Author: South Florida Aquatic Club - SOFLO Swimming

Welcome to the South Florida Aquatic club, a premier community swim team dedicated to providing opportunity and encouragement to all team members, from the beginner to the seasoned Olympic athlete in their pursuit of excellence. The year-round development program for competitive swimming features life-enhancing qualities including integrity, discipline, teamwork, sportsmanship and health and fitness. We invite you to navigate the club’s portal for information about the team.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: