Teenager Katie Grimes Steals The Show At TYR Pro Swim Series

By Sharon Robb
MISSION VIEJO, Calif., June 4, 2022–Teenager Katie Grimes is making her name known at the fourth and final TYR Pro Swim Series at newly-renovated Marguerite Aquatics Center.

Grimes, who first stepped into the spotlight during the 2020 Summer Olympics where she finished fourth in the 800-meter freestyle as the youngest member of the U.S. Olympic team at 15, continues to make a name for herself at age 16.

On Saturday, Grimes of Sandpipers of Nevada won her fourth event in the 800-meter freestyle in 8:27.72, her final event of the meet. She also had wins in the 400 freestyle, 200 backstroke and 400 IM.

In other finals:
Egyptian Olympian Marwan Aly El Kamash, who won the 1500, came back to win the 800-meter freestyle in 8:00.74. He led for most of the race.

Isabelle Stadden of Cal won the 100-meter backstroke in 1:00.21. Her splits were 29.38 and 30.03.

Justin Ress of Mission Viejo led from start to finish to win the 100-meter backstroke in 53.80.

Isabelle Odgers of USC won the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:28.68.

Texas Longhorn Will Licon won the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:12.28, winning by more than six seconds ahead of Ethan Hansen.

Turkish national record holder Viktoria Gunes, swimming unattached won the 200 IM in 2:13.80.

Grant House of Sun Devil Swimming won the 200 IM in 1:59.84, the only swimmer under 2 minutes.

Poland’s Kasia Wasick of Team Rebel Aquatics won the 50-meter freestyle in 24.70.

David Curtiss of Wolfpack Elite won the 50-meter freestyle in 21.80.

Julio Horrego, 23, a 2020 Honduran Olympian will use this meet as a learning experience. He was disqualified for the second time in the meet in the prelims of the 200-meter breaststroke where he was seeded fourth in 2:17.35. He was disqualified for fly kick under the water. Next up for Horrego will be the world championships in Hungary.

Also on Saturday, SOFLO teammate Ricardo Roche, 22, swam another 100-meter backstroke time trial finishing in 1:00.98. His first time trial was 1:00.84.

On Sunday the meet will be televised on CNBC taped-delay at 10:30 a.m. and 4 p.m. respectively.

SOFLO is sponsored by TYR, a USA manufacturer of recreational and competitive swimwear, caps, goggles, triathlon gear and accessories. One of the nation’s top companies, TYR was created by athletes and named for the Norse god of warriors in Germanic mythology.

57th Mel Zajac Junior International Swim Meet at the UBC Aquatic Centre in Vancouver, Canada:

Eagle Aquatics’ Erika Pelaez, 15, a member of the USA Swimming Junior National team, picked up two more wins. In the 50-meter backstroke, Pelaez was the fastest qualifier in 28.34 and won in 28.37. In the 50-meter freestyle, she was fastest qualifier in 25.85 and won in 25.78. She was also a member of the third place 800-meter freestyle relay that finished in 8:17.81.

Treasure Coast Aquatics’ Blair Stoneburg, 18, was fastest qualifier in the 400-meter freestyle in 4:18.44 and finished third in 4:16.74. She was also tenth in the 50-meter freestyle in 26.80. She was also on the third-place 800 free relay.

Treasure Coast teammate Mitchell Ledford, 17, was second fastest qualifier in the 100-meter butterfly in 54.92and came back to win in 54.31. He was also on the second place 800 freestyle relay.

Sarasota Sharks’ Addison Sauickie, 16, was 19th in the 100-meter butterfly and sixth in the 400-meter freestyle 4:18.90 after going 4:22.20 in prelims. She was also on the third-place 800 free relay with Pelaez and Stoneburg.


800-meter freestyle: 1. Katie Grimes, SAND 8:27.72, 2. Erica Sullivan, TEX 8:47.54, 3. Olivia McMurray, TEX 8:54.20.

100-meter backstroke: 1. Isabelle Stadden, CAL 1:00.21,2. Bella Sims, SAND 1:01.33, 3. Teagan O’Dell, NOVA 1:01.46.

200-meter breaststroke: 1. Isabelle Odgers, TRO 2:28.68, 2. Katja Pavicevic, TAC 2:29.81, 3. Kaitlyn Dobler, TRO 2:31.10.

200-meter individual medley: 1. Viktoria Gunes, UN 2:13.80, 2. Justina Kozan, UN 2:14.72, 3. Lindsay Looney, SUN 2:16.15.

50-meter freestyle: 1. Katarzyna Wasick, TRA 24.70, 2. Kyla Leibel, TEX 25.47,3. Anicka Delgado, EVO 25.95.

800-meter freestyle: 1. Marwan Aly El Kamash, ISC 8:00.74, 2. Brice Barrieault, SAND 8:05.59, 3. Ilya Kharun, SAND 8:08.49.

100-meter backstroke: 1. Justin Ross, MV 53.80, 2. Colby Mefford, UN 55.99, 3. Mikita Tsmyh, UN 57.01.

200-meter breaststroke: 1. Will Licon, TEX 2:12.28, 2. Ethan Hansen, SUN 2:18.53, 3. Brandon Fischer, UN 2:19.25.

200-meter individual medley: 1. Grant House, SUN 1:59.84, 2. Ilya kharun, SAND 2:04.43, 3. Tyler Kopp, UN 2:05.09.

50-meter freestyle: 1. David Curtiss, WOLF 21.80, 2. Ryan Held, NYAC 22.08, 3. Artyom Machekin, SDSA 22.43.

Sharon Robb can be reached at sha11cats@aol.com

Author: South Florida Aquatic Club - SOFLO Swimming

Welcome to the South Florida Aquatic club, a premier community swim team dedicated to providing opportunity and encouragement to all team members, from the beginner to the seasoned Olympic athlete in their pursuit of excellence. The year-round development program for competitive swimming features life-enhancing qualities including integrity, discipline, teamwork, sportsmanship and health and fitness. We invite you to navigate the club’s portal for information about the team.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: