Kathleen Golding Makes Second B Final At Phillips 66 National Championships

By Sharon Robb
IRVINE, Calif., July 29, 2022—Kathleen Golding made her second B final at the Phillips 66 National Championships Friday at William Woollett Aquatics Center.

Golding, 21, of Gator Swim Club was fourth in the B final and 13th overall in the 400-meter freestyle in 4:14.56, just 0.80 off her best time. Golding has made one A final and two B finals during the meet. Golding has the 200 IM left to swim on Saturday, the final day of the meet.

Wisconsin-bound Blair Stoneburg, 18, was ninth in the 400-meter freestyle in a best time 4:13.82, dropping 1.53 seconds off her previous best.

Erin Gemmell, 17, of Nation’s Capital won the 400 free in a best time 4:06.17, dropping 3.64 seconds. Her previous best was 4:09.81. Gemmell led from start to finish and was never challenged.

Florida Gold Coast top finisher and U.S. junior national team member Erika Pelaez, 16, of Eagle Aquatics was sixth in the 100-meter backstroke in a best time 1:00.33, dropping 0.62 seconds.

COMBINED TEAM TOTALS: 1. Indiana Swim Club 180.5, 2. Gator Swim Club 160, 3. Cal Aquatics 153.5, 4. Longhorn Aquatics 117, 5. Long Island 84.

MEN TEAM TOTALS: 1. Cal Aquatics 110, 2. Indiana Swim Club 81.5, 3. SwimAtlanta 54, 4. Longhorn Aquatics 50, 5. Ridgefield 47.

WOMEN TEAM TOTALS: 1. Gator Swim Club 131, 2. Indiana Swim CLub 99, 3. Long Island 75, 4. Nashville, Longhorn Aquatics 67, 20. Eagles Aquatics 19.

400-meter freestyle: 1. Erin Gemmell, NCAP 4:06.17, 2. Cavan Gormsen, LIAC 4:08.38, 3. Kensey McMahon, BAMA 4:08.57, 9. Blair Stoneburg, Unattached-Wisconsin 4:13.82, 13. Kathleen Golding, GSC 4:14.56; TCA: 11. Blair Stoneburg, Unattached 4:15.58, prelims, 16. Kathleen Golding, GSC 4:16.73, prelims.

100-meter breaststroke: 1. Kaitlyn Dobler, TRO 1:06.88, 2. Olivia Anderson, AQJT 1:07.85, 3. Talara-Jade Dixon, AUS 1:08.15.

100-meter backstroke: 1. Rhyan White, ALA 58.91, 2. Kira Toussaint, TA 59.24, 3. Isabelle Stadden, CAL 59.55; FGC: 6. Erika Pelaez, EA 1:00.33, 43. Athena Meneses Kovacs, EA 1:03.12.

400-meter freestyle: 1. Jake Magahey, SA 3:46.36, 2. Jake Mitchell, UN 3:46.59, 3. Kieran Smith, RAC 3:48.48.

100-meter breaststroke: 1. Josh Matheny, ISC 59.44, 2. Caspar Corbeau, UN 59.91, 3. Kevin Houseman, WILD 1:00.24.

100-meter backstroke: 1. Justin Ress, MV 53.55, 2. Adam Chaney, RAYS 53.68, 3. Jack Aikins, SA 53.75; FGC: 38. Josh Zuchowski, FAST 56.46.

Sharon Robb can be reached at sha11cats@aol.com

Author: South Florida Aquatic Club - SOFLO Swimming

Welcome to the South Florida Aquatic club, a premier community swim team dedicated to providing opportunity and encouragement to all team members, from the beginner to the seasoned Olympic athlete in their pursuit of excellence. The year-round development program for competitive swimming features life-enhancing qualities including integrity, discipline, teamwork, sportsmanship and health and fitness. We invite you to navigate the club’s portal for information about the team.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: