Phelps, Franklin Big Winners At Golden Goggles

Phelps, Franklin Big Winners At Golden Goggles

Written by Sharon Robb

November 19, 2012

Michael Phelps and Missy Franklin, household names in swimming, took home the biggest honors Monday night at the Golden Goggles, USA Swimming’s version of the Academy Awards, at the Marriott Marquis in New York City.

Phelps was named Male Athlete of the Year, finishing ahead of Ryan Lochte, Nathan Adrian and Matt Grevers in the voting. Phelps finished with 22 career Olympic medals including 18 gold medals. Donald Trump and Gary Hall Jr. presented Phelps his award.

“This Olympics was the best Olympics I have ever been a part of,” said Phelps, who credited his mother and sisters for their support throughout his career.

Franklin was named Female Athlete of the Year. The 17-year-old four-time Olympic gold medalist and world record holder was an overwhelming choice.

“This summer was unbelievable, the team I was a part of was amazing and I learned so much from them,” Franklin said. “I have so much to be thankful for.”

Teenager Katie Ledecky won the Female Race of the Year award for her American record performance in the 800-meter freestyle. She was presented her award by five-time Olympian Dara Torres, who now lives in Boston, and New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg.

Joked one Twitter follower, “The best part about Dara Torres giving an award to Katie Ledecky is that they’ll both be swimming in 2032.”

Ledecky told the audience, “All of you inspired me. I was lucky to have my race come later in the week so I was very motivated watching everyone race and getting to know the U.S. coaches. Watching that video of the Olympics gave me chills.”

Ledecky picked up her second Golden Goggle with the Breakout Performer of the Year award. Amazingly, a year before the Olympics Ledecky didn’t have a U.S. trial cut.

“When I think about this award I think back to my first race when I was 6 years old swimming in my summer league,” Ledecky said. “I remember stopping every two seconds to grab the lane line and it was a contest between my teammate who stopped the least.”

Nathan Adrian won the Male Race of the Year for his 100-meter freestyle gold medal-winning swim and was presented his award by Olympian Tiffany Cohen of Fort Lauderdale and U.S. soccer player Alex Morgan. Cohen pointed out that Ryan Lochte was born on the day she won her second Olympic gold medal in the 800 freestyle.

Jessica Hardy won the Perseverance Award. “Just to be in the Olympics was a dream come true,” a teary-eyed Hardy said.

Cancer survivor Eric Shanteau won the Athlete Humanitarian Award. “Four years ago when I was diagnosed with testicular cancer I didn’t know what my future would hold. To be able to come back and make another Olympic team and win an Olympic gold medal was a dream come true. It takes more than an individual to win a gold medal or to be able to give back.”

Bob Bowman, coach of 2012 Olympians Michael Phelps and Allison Schmitt, was named Coach of the Year Award. “Schmitt was the perfect example of what happens when you work hard and believe,” Bowman said. “Michael it’s been a privilege to be your coach. It’s good to be your coach but it’s even better to be your friend.”

The Golden Goggles Relay Award went to the world record women’s 4×100-meter medley relay winners of Missy Franklin, Rebecca Soni, Dana Vollmer, and Allison Schmitt.

According to host and television commentator Bob Costas, the balloting for the awards were the closest in the six-year history of the awards ceremony.

With Call Me Maybe playing in the background, the U.S. Olympic team was announced before the ceremony. The funniest entrance was the chest bump between University of Florida’s Elizabeth Beisel and Ricky Berens.

In his monologue, Costas announced that the Olympic team’s Call Me Maybe Video has reached 16 million hits.

Sharon Robb can be reached at

AQUATIC NOTEBOOK, Issue 189: Gary Hall Jr. Heads 2013 ISHOF Induction Class

AQUATIC NOTEBOOK, Issue 189: Gary Hall Jr. Heads 2013 ISHOF Induction Class


August 23, 2021

Olympian Gary Hall Jr. of The Race Club heads the International Swimming Hall of Fame’s Class of 2013.

Hall Jr. and nine other individuals selected for induction will be honored at the 49th annual ISHOF ceremonies on Saturday, May 11th in Fort Lauderdale.

Hall is one of only five male swimmers in history with double-digit Olympic medals won between 1996 and 2004.

Hall Jr., a three-time Olympian, won 10 Olympic medals including five gold. As a sprint freestyler, he won back-to-back gold medals in the 50-meter freestyle in 2000 and 2004 and silver medal in 1996. Hall Jr. also medaled at two World Championships and two Pan American Games.

Since retiring from swimming, Hall is involved in several charities including those related to diabetes. Hall has Type 1 diabetes, diagnosed in 1999.

Joining Hall Jr. are swimmers Pieter Van Den Hoogenband of the Netherlands; Yana Klochkova of the Ukraine and Dagmar Hase of Germany; diver Hu Jia of China; synchronized swimmer Nathalie Schneyder of the U.S.; water polo player Milivoj Bebic of Yugoslavia and Croatia; open water swimmer Cliff Lumsden of Canada; coach Alberto Castagnetti of Italy and contributor Peter Montgomery of Australia.


Brazil swimmers continue to dominate the Jose Finkel Trophy Meet in Sao Paulo. Guilherme Guido swam the 50-meter backstroke in a Brazilian and South American record time of 23.31 in the short course meters national championship meet. He won in finals in 23.38. Felipe Silva won the 100-meter breaststroke in 58.17, Davie’s Felipe Lima was second in 58.26 and Henrique Barbosa third in 58.62. Kaio Almeida won the 200-meter butterfly in 1:52.44, just ahead of Thiago Pereira, who died in the last 50 and finished in 1:52.56. Pereira came back in the 100-meter individual medley in 52.64. Etiene Medeiros knocked off 37-year-old Fabiola Martin in the 50-meter backstroke in 26.94…

Ryan Lochte said on Wednesday that he plans on getting back in the water on Monday to begin his training for world championships and 2016 Rio Olympics. Lochte also said he plans on dropping the 400-meter individual medley from his events list. Lochte will be on Late Night With Jimmy Fallon Friday night…University of Florida’s Elizabeth Beisel returned to the pool on Thursday. “First swim in three weeks, rough,” Beisel tweeted…Olympic teammate Brendan Hansen, who two weeks ago tweeted his wife Martha was having their first baby, confirmed that they will be having a girl early next year…Olympian Jessica Hardy was diagnosed with TMJ. For the past two weeks she has had a dislocated jaw. “Really missing being able to chow down on food,” Hardy tweeted…

Former Indian River State College and Clemson head coach Chris Ip was hired at LSU as an assistant coach…Yale coaching legend Phil Moriarty died Wednesday at age 98…Olympian Rowdy Gaines will throw out the first pitch at Thursday’s Chicago Cubs home game…Former Pine Crest swimmer Diana Nyad actually swam 51 hours and 5 minutes during her record attempt to swim from Cuba to Florida without the aid of a shark cage, her crew discovered after going over logs and video…Bahamian Olympian Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace has moved to South Florida and is training at University of Miami’s pool.

Sharon Robb can be reached at