SOFLO Teammates Tie At FLA Senior Circuit Meet

SOFLO Teammates Tie At FLA Senior Circuit Meet


May 29, 2011

South Florida Aquatic Club teammates Gianpaolo Barelli and Keegan Boisson-Yates tied for ninth in the 100-meter freestyle Sunday at the Fort Lauderdale Aquatics Senior Circuit Meet at Fort Lauderdale Aquatic Complex.

Barelli, 18, and Boisson-Yates, 15, finished in 55.87.

SOFLO’s Robert O’Gorman, 17, was 18th, in the 100-meter freestyle in a career-best 56.99, bettering his career best of 57.58.

Davie Nadadores won the men’s team title with 303.5 points followed by Metro Aquatics with 261.5 and Fort Lauderdale Aquatics, 155.

Host FLA won the women’s team title with 378.5 followed by Davie with 169 and Metro Aquatics with 139.5.

Other individual champions on the third and final day:

Lauren Driscoll, 17, FLA, 1500-meter freestyle, 17:42.95.

Jon Grundstrom, 24, Unattached-NSU, 1500-meter freestyle, 17:13.45.

Jonna Nyback, 23, FLA, 50-meter butterfly, 29.62.

Marcos Macedo, 20, Davie Nadadores, 50-meter butterfly, 25.27.

Carlotta Verita, 12, FLA, 200-meter breaststroke, 2:54.52.

Evandro Silva, 19, Davie Nadadores, 200-meter breaststroke, 2:27.42.

Jonna Nyback, 23, FLA, 100-meter freestyle, 59.63.

Marcos Macedo, 20, Davie Nadadores, 100-meter freestyle, 53.17.

Ali Schulhofer, 16, Davie Nadadores, 200-meter butterfly, 2:25.22.

Yousef Alaskari, 17, Davie Nadadores, 200-meter butterfly, 2:08.66.

Diana Chang, 18, Unattached, 200-meter backstroke, 2:29.32.

Yuri Fernandes, 18, Davie Nadadores, 200-meter backstroke, 2:14.77.


Stanford’s Julia Smit broke two meet records to highlight action at the Speedo Grand Challenge in Irvine, Calif.

Smit knocked off Katinka Hosszu in the 400-meter individual medley in 4:38.83 and broke her second record in the 200-meter backstroke in 2:12.72.

Sprinter Nathan Adrian of Cal broke a meet record in the 50-meter freestyle in 22.23 to move into a No. 12 world ranking. Cal teammate Tom Shields won the 100-meter butterfly in 53.40.

Jasmine Tosky won the 200-meter freestyle in 2:00.00.

Alex Lendrum won the 200-meter backstroke in 2:01.15 and Mads Glaesner won the 400-meter freestyle in 2:01.15.


Lara Jackson of Tucson Ford won the Super Finals in the 50-meter freestyle in 25.84 at the Arizona Invitational at Arizona State in Tempe. SwimMAC’s Nick Brunelli won the men’s 50-meter freestyle in 22.69, knocking off Josh Schneider who finished in 22.78.


Olympic gold medalist Natalie Coughlin and Canadian Brent Hayden were top winners at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver.

Coughlin won the 50-meter freestyle in 25.61 and Hayden won the 50-meter freestyle in 22.83.

Canadian Annamay Pierse won the 200-meter breaststroke in 2:25.98.

Sharon Robb can be reached at