SOFLO’s Pinon, Marinheiro, Fourteen Others Named To Miami Herald’s All-Broward, All-Dade Swimming Teams

SOFLO’s Marinheiro, Pinon, Fourteen Others Named To Miami Herald’s All-Broward, All-Dade Swimming Teams

By Sharon Robb

January 29, 2014

More than a dozen South Florida Aquatic Club swimmers were honored on the annual All-Broward and All-Dade Swimming and Diving teams selected by the Miami Herald.

Melissa Marinheiro, a junior at West Broward High School, earned first team honors for the 500-yard freestyle (4:51.13) and second team honors in the 200-yard freestyle (1:52.21).

Pinon, a sophomore at Plantation American Heritage, also earned first team honors as a member of the 400-yard freestyle relay that finished second at the state meet.

Pinon played a key role in the boys first state team title for American Heritage.

Pinon also earned second team honors in the 100-yard freestyle (47.33) and 200-yard freestyle (1:40.59).

Marinheiro and Pinon are pictured in the Wednesday, January 29th issue of the Broward edition of the Pulitzer Prize-winning Miami Herald.

The teams can also be found on the newspaper’s award-winning website at

Archbishop McCarthy, coached by SOFLO coach Megan Garland, had five swimmers selected for honorable mention. They are Kryan Nichlany, Philippe Coppee, Matthew Mila, JoJo Perez and Jeremy Piacente. Bowie Suen and Rafael Ramirez of Cypress Bay and Juan Lucas of Pembroke Pines Charter were also named on honorable mention.

Kylie Herman and Haley Wright of Cypress Bay, Amber Hunter of West Broward and Lilli Calero of Pembroke Pines Charter were named on the girls honorable mention.

Named to the boys’ first team were: Kent Haeffner, Pine Crest, 200-yard freestyle, 1:40.10 and 500-yard freestyle, 4:25.75; Alex Evdokimov, Taravella, 200-yard individual medley, 1:52.57; Jordy Groters, University School, 50-yard freestyle, 20.69 and 100-yard breaststroke, 54.76; Logan Downey, South Plantation, diving, 517.60 points; Austin Fields, Pine Crest, diving, 446.05 points; Chad Moody, Cardinal Gibbons, 100-yard butterfly, 51.16 and 100-yard backstroke, 52.57; 100-yard freestyle, Anton Voronin, North Broward Prep, 100-yard freestyle, 46.53;

Selected to the girls’ first team were: Emma Lincoln, Cypress Bay, 200-yard freestyle, 1:52.20; Clara Smiddy, South Florida Heat, 200-yard individual medley, 1:58.39 and 100-yard backstroke, 52.46; Marta Ciesla, Pine Crest, 50-yard freestyle, 23.14 and 100-yard freestyle, 50.42; Carolyn Chaney, Pine Crest, diving, 516.50 points; Karlee Price, St. Thomas Aquinas, diving, 443.00; Jessica Nava, Westminster Academy, 100-yard butterfly, 55.45; Melissa Marinheiro, West Broward, 500-yard freestyle, 4:51.13; and Emily Kopas, University School, 100-yard breaststroke, 1:01.92.

Olivia Katcher of Miami Country Day was named to the All-Dade second team for the 500-yard freestyle (4:59.76) and third team for the 200-yard freestyle (1:51.63).

Maria Lopez of Hialeah Gardens was named to the third team in the 100-yard butterfly (56.63). Teammate Jessica Rodriguez joined her on third team in the 100-yard breaststroke (1:07.56).

On the All-Dade team, Ryan Capote of American High and Alfredo Mesa and Jordon Colon of Mater Academy were named on honorable mention.

Named to the All-Dade boys’ first team were: Bradley Anan, Columbus, 200-yard freestyle, 1:42.21; Wayne Denswil, St. Brendan, 200-yard individual medley, 1:52.47 and 100-yard breaststroke, 56.97; Ryan Guso, Belen, 50-yard freestyle, 21.18; Jeremy Lentin, Palmetto, diving, 293.80 points; Zuhayr Pigot, St. Brendan, 100-yard butterfly, 48.88; Joseph Hunt, Palmetto, 100-yard freestyle, 47.48; Boleck DePawlikowski, Belen, 500-yard freestyle, 4:30.73 and 100-yard backstroke, 50.13; and Alejandro Carriazo, Belen, utility.

Selected for the All-Dade girls’ first team were: Arianna Noya, Reagan, 200-yard freestyle, 1:50.85; Kelly Fertel, Coral Reef, 200-yard individual medley, 2:06.64; Nicole Ochoa, Killian, 50-yard freestyle, 24.26; Demi Jones, Ferguson, diving, 115.75 points; Isabella Paez, Reagan, 100-yard butterfly, 54.70; Laine Morgan, Ransom, 100-yard freestyle, 52.33; Namilla Sanchez, Gulliver, 500-yard freestyle, 4:57.43; Laine Morgan, Ransom, 100-yard backstroke, 57.56; and Annie Valls, Ransom, 100-yard breaststroke, 1:03.00.

After well-organized research, the Herald selects an All-Broward and All-Dade team and is considered the premier all-county team among South Florida coaches and college coaches as a recruiting tool. The Swimmers and Coaches of the Year will be announced at the Herald’s annual awards ceremony.

Sharon Robb can be reached at