Louisville’s Acosta, Bradford-Feldman Top FGC Finishers On Day Two Of TYR Pro Swim Series In Austin; SOFLO’s Golding Races Twice

By Sharon Robb

January 12, 2018—Marcelo Acosta and Rachel Bradford-Feldman, both of the University of Louisville were top Florida Gold Coast finishers Friday in the TYR Pro Swim Series at Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swim Center.

Acosta, 21, was fifth in the 800-meter freestyle in 8:01.14. His seed time was 7:55.70. Zane Grothe, swimming unattached for Mission Viejo, won the event in 7:56.69. Acosta was also 10th in the 200-meter freestyle in 1:51.78 on Thursday night.

Acosta, a junior and El Salvador native, trains with Azura Florida Aquatics. Acosta redshirted to prepare for the 2016 Olympics. He became the first swimmer from El Salvador to qualify for the OLympics with an “A” cut. He also qualified for the 2017 World Championships in Hungary.

Louisville’s Rachel Bradford-Feldman, 20, a former St. Andrew’s swimmer, was fifth in the 200-meter individual medley in 2:14.92.

Kathleen Golding of South Florida Aquatic Club had two prelim races on Friday. Golding, 17, finished 19th in the 200-meter individual medley in 2:19.35. She was seeded 24th. Her best time is 2:17.19. In the 100-meter freestyle she was 34th in 57.76. Her best time is 56.20.

Golding has completed four of her seven events she is entered in. She has the 50-meter freestyle, 400-meter freestyle and 50-meter butterfly left to swim.

In the most exciting race of the night, veteran swimmer and Olympian Matt Grevers, 32, of Tucson Ford edged Bolles alum Ryan Murphy, 22, of Cal Aquatics in the 100-meter backstroke, 53.73-53.99.

2016 Olympian Tom Shields returned home to Berkley, Calif. after complaining of back and health issues. Shields posted a photo on his Instagram page undergoing cupping at his chiropracter’s office. He has been recovering from a couple of long-needed surgeries and was worn down after training camp.

The TYR Pro Swim Series at Austin is the first of six stops for the series and will be swum in long course meters. Prelims will begin 9 a.m. CST through Saturday with finals beginning at 5:40 p.m. CST on Saturday.

TYR is the official outfitter for South Florida Aquatic Club.

NBC Sports will provide live coverage of the TYR Pro Swim Series at Austin on live television on Olympic Channel on Saturday. Each finals broadcast will begin at 7 p.m. ET. A live webcast of prelims will be available online at usaswimming.org.

AquaKids Sharks Hailey Jerew, 17, and Mary Smutny, 17; Azura Florida Aquatic’s Patricia Casellas, 27, Luis Flores, 23, Edson Lima, 23, Daniel Torres, 26, and Gonzalo Vegas, 20 are also competing for the Florida Gold Coast. Florida Gold Coast college swimmers Marcelo Acosta and Rachael Bradford Feldman are competing for University of Louisville.

Other meet stops are Atlanta, Mesa, Ariz., Indianapolis, Santa Clara, Columbus and U.S. Nationals.



800-meter freestyle: 1. Bingjie Li, China 8:28.98, best time, 2. Kriste Kobrich, China 8:35.65, 3. Hannah Moore, NC State 8:36.87.

100-meter backstroke: 1. Regan Smith, Riptide 59.38, pool record, 2. Taylor Ruck, HPCO 1:00.18, 3. Olivia Smoliga, Athens Bulldogs 1:00.23, 83. Mary Smutny, AquaKids Sharks 1:09.31.

200-meter butterfly: 1. Alys Thomas, Wales 2:09.50, 2. Yufei Zhang, China 2:10.22, 3. Hali Flickinger, Athens Bulldogs 2:10.37, 24. Mary Smutny, AquaKids Sharks 2:18.31.

100-meter breaststroke: 1. Katie Meili, New York Athletic Club 1:06.49, 2. Rachel Nicol, UCSC 1:07.70, 3. Molly Hannis, TNAQ 1:07.93, 36. Rachel Bradford-Feldman, UOFL 1:14.10, 46. Patricia Casellas, Azura 1:15.91, 55. Hailey Jerew, AquaKids Sharks 1:20.54.

100-meter freestyle: 1. Taylor Ruck, HPCO 53.51, 2. Margo Geer, MVN 53.74, 3. Kayla Sanchez, HPCO 54.71, 34. Kathleen Golding, SOFLO 57.76, 47. Mary Smutny, AquaKids Sharks 57.97, 100. Hailey Jerew, AquaKids Sharks 1:01.77.

200-meter individual medley: 1. Sydney Pickrem, Texas A&M 2:09.92, pool record, 2. Melanie Margalis, SPA 2:10.66, 3. Madisyn Cox, Longhorn Aquatics 2:10.98, 5. Rachel Bradford-Feldman, Louisville 2:14.92, 19. Kathleen Golding, SOFLO 2:19.35.


800-meter freestyle: 1. Zane Grothe, MV 7:56.69, 2. Anton Ipsen, NC State 7:57.64, 3. Clark Smith, Longhorn Aquatics 8:00.70, 5. Marcelo Acosta, Louisville 8:01.14.

100-meter backstroke: 1. Matt Grevers, Tucson Ford 53.73, 2. Ryan Murphy, California Aquatis 53.99, 3. Justin Ress, NC State 54.43, 27. Daniel Torres, Azura 57.83.

200-meter butterfly: 1. Chase Kalisz, Athens Bulldogs 1:55.63, 2. Masayu Umemoto, RQ 1:57.64, 3. Jack Conger, Nation’s Capital 1:58.09.

100-meter breaststroke: 1. Zibei Yan, China 59.84, 2. Andrew Wilson, Longhorn Aquatics 1:00.90, 3. Nic Fink, Athens Bulldogs 1:01.40.

100-meter freestyle: 1. Nathan Adrian, Cal Aquatics 48.75, 2. Ryan Held, NC State 49.35, 3. Daniel Krueger, McFarland Spartans 49.77, 31. Daniel Torres, Azura 52.59, 40. Jhonny Perez, Azura 53.03.

200-meter individual medley: 1. Chase Kalisz, Athens Bulldogs 1:57.50, 2. Will Licon, Longhorn Aquatics 2:01.08, 3. Carson Foster, Mason Manta Rays 2:01.46,

Sharon Robb can be reached at sha11cats@aol.com