SOFLO’s Juan Vallmitjana Breaks National Age Group Record On Day One Of Spanish Swimming Championships


By Sharon Robb
Palma de Mallorca, Spain, June 18, 2024—Juan Vallmitjana, already one of the nation’s top age group swimmers in the United States, is now making a name for himself in Spain.

Vallmitjana, 15, a sophomore-to-be at Nova Southeastern University School with dual citizenship, set a national age group record on opening day of the Absolute Spanish Championship Open Trials Paris 2024 (CXI Cto. de Espana Absoluto Open Trials Paris 2024).

In only his second international meet in Spain, Vallmitjana, competing for Club Natacion Barcelona, swam a lifetime-best 15:39.01 to win his heat and finish seventh overall among a field of 59 swimmers.

“If you told me a year ago I would do that I wouldn’t have believed you,” Vallmitjana said.

His last two splits were 29.61 and 29.35. His previous best was 15:55.72 at the XLIII Cto. de España Infantil de Invierno.

“I’m very excited,” Vallmitjana said. “I always come back like that. The water could have been a little colder but it was fine. I just kept my pace and swam my own race. At one point I was fourth.

“I felt really good. Even though I was behind at one point, I just knew that if I kept my pace and didn’t get too hysterical or worried about what the person next to me was doing that I would be able to do a best time.”

Spain’s national record holder Carlos Garach Benito of Club Natacion Churriana won the event in 14:57.99. It was his third Olympic qualifying cut (10K open water and 800 freestyle last year).

The meet has attracted several swimmers from around the world since it’s a FINA Olympic qualifier.

Vallmitjana is joined by SOFLO pros Lismar Lyon and Eric Veit of Venezuela and 2020 Olympian Julio Horrego of Honduras. Horrego is the only No. 1 in FINA points from his country. SOFLO head coach Chris Anderson is coaching the foursome.

Lyon was fifth in the 100-meter butterfly in 1:00.28.

Vallmitjana is enjoying his best year in his young career. In 2024, he has broken nine Florida Gold Coast records so far. He was among 112 of the nation’s top age group swimmers selected to USA Swimming’s 2024 Zone Select Camp in June.

At the Knoxville Pro Swim Series, Vallmitjana, then 14, swam 8:21.58 in the 800 freestyle for 13th place, a nine-second improvement on his previous personal best, moving him up to 20th place all-time in the 13-14 age group.

“It’s mainly the coaching because the training comes from the coach,” Vallmitjana said. “Coach was happy for me. He told me I did a good job.”

Vallmitjana will swim three more events during the five-day meet: 200-, 400- and 800-meter freestyles.

“This season I feel like I am in the best shape,” Vallmitjana said. “I’m putting in the workout training and going to the competition being able to do what I do in training.”

Sharon Robb can be reached at sha11cats@aol.com
http://www.swim4soflo.com

Author: South Florida Aquatic Club - SOFLO Swimming

Welcome to the South Florida Aquatic club, a premier community swim team dedicated to providing opportunity and encouragement to all team members, from the beginner to the seasoned Olympic athlete in their pursuit of excellence. The year-round development program for competitive swimming features life-enhancing qualities including integrity, discipline, teamwork, sportsmanship and health and fitness. We invite you to navigate the club’s portal for information about the team.

Leave a comment