Bolles Alum Caeleb Dressel Back On Top; Eagle Aquatics’ Kaii Winkler Makes Butterfly Final


By Sharon Robb
INDIANAPOLIS, June 22, 2024—Caeleb Dressel was all smiles Friday night at the U.S. Olympic Swim Trials at Lucas Oil Stadium.

The Gator Swim Club swimmer and Bolles alum, who already qualified for the 4×100 freestyle relay with a third place in the 100, won the 50-meter freestyle in 21.41 to get the chance to defend his Olympic title in Paris. It was his best time since 2022 and ranks fourth in the world. Notre Dame’s Chris Guiliano was second in 21.69.

“The big priority of my career was how long can I be dominant,” Dressel said. “That’s still a little bit of my mindset but I think it’s switching a little bit to what can I show this younger generation. I might just be at the age maybe showing these guys something that they didn’t think they were capable of doing. I’m not saying I’m giving up. I want to be dominant as long as I can, but there’s a little bit of a shift.”

After a long layoff to regain his passion for the sport, Dressel proved he is still dominant.

“Sometimes it’s easy, sometimes it’s tough, that was a tough one,” Dressel said. “I was not super confident until I got up on the block. There’s only so much you can do in the 50. It’s head down and go fast.

“I really feel like I am loving this sport again,” Dressel said. “Feeling the love from everyone, it’s really special.”

In another emotional final, Carson Foster won the 200-meter individual medley in 1:55.65, just ahead of Shaine Casas in 1:55.83. Both train at Texas bringing a huge smile to 82-year-old legendary coach Eddie Reese who has retired but coaching his swimmers at Trials and Olympics.

Casas, who has just missed Olympic spots in past Trials, sealed his first Olympic appearance. After the race he was emotional hugging Foster and leaning against the lane lane fighting back tears. His feelings were the most poignant during media interviews.

“I think I’m going to remember that race for the rest of my life,” Casas said. “It wasn’t my best race, it wasn’t even my fastest race. But that race represented my entire life’s work. I can’t really put into words what that means to me.

“It wasn’t even just about me today. My mom, my grandparents, my friends, family and teammates. Everyone who supported me and pushed me even when I felt like I couldn’t keep going. Without them that would never have happened. I can confidently say I would not be where I am without my family, my friends and teammates. That support system that I have behind me.

“This means everything,” Casas said. “Since I was a kid, it’s all I dreamed about. Now I won’t have to pretend to be an Olympian, I am an Olympian.”

Regan Smith continued her dominance, after breaking the world record in the 100 backstroke, she won the 200-meter backstroke in 2:05.16 to earn her first Olympic spot in the event. Phoebe Bacon just nudged out Claire Curzan for second in 2:06.27-2:06.34. The U.S. now has five of the top 10 in the 200 backstroke in the world this year.

“I’m incredibly proud of this performance,” Smith said. “I ran out of gas in that last race, but it’s been a great meet for me.”

North Carolina State-bound Kaii Winkler of Eagle Aquatics became the first Florida Gold Coast swimmer to advance into tonight’s final of the 100-meter butterfly. He was seventh in prelims in 52.13 and eighth in semifinals in a lifetime-best 51.64. Coming into the meet his best time was 52.51. He dropped 0.87 seconds.

For the first time in the history of the Trials, the event is being held inside the National Football League’s Lucas Oil Stadium and attracting record crowds.

Among local swimmers’ five day action:

University of Florida’ s Anna Auld of West Palm Beach of St. Andrew’s Swimming was eighth in his heat of the 800-meter freestyle in 8:56.64.

N.C. State-bound Kaii Winkler of Eagle Aquatics eighth in 100-meter butterfly in 51.64 in semis to advance into finals.

More than 1,000 swimmers including ten from Florida Gold Coast Swimming, are competing for 52 spots (two swimmers per individual event) on Team USA headed to the July 26-Aug. 11 Paris Summer Olympics. The trials are being featured on prime time television coverage each night on USA Network, NBC and Peacock.

Each day features a preliminary session from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. with races to determine who will advance to the semifinals and finals. The semifinals and finals sessions take place from 8-10 p.m. depending on TV coverage with at least one Olympian named to Team USA every night.

FRIDAY FINALS
WOMEN

200-meter backstroke:

  1. Regan Smith, TXLA 2:05.16, 2. Phoebe Bacon, UW 2:06.27, 3. Claire Curzan, TAC 2:06.34.

MEN
50-meter freestyle:

  1. Caeleb Dressel, GSC 21.41, 2. Chris Guiliano, ND 21.69, 3. Matt King, TFA 21.70.

200-meter individual medley:

  1. Carson Foster, TXLA 1:55.65, 2. Shaine Casas, TXLA 1:55.83, 3. Kieran Smith, RAC 1:56.97.

U.S. OLYMPIC TRIALS SCHEDULE
Saturday, June 22: Women’s 50 Freestyle, Men’s 100 butterfly, Women 800 freestyle, Women 200 IM, Men 1500 freestyle.

Sharon Robb can be reached at sha11cats@aol.com
http://www.swim4soflo.com

Author: South Florida Aquatic Club - SOFLO Swimming

Welcome to the South Florida Aquatic club, a premier community swim team dedicated to providing opportunity and encouragement to all team members, from the beginner to the seasoned Olympic athlete in their pursuit of excellence. The year-round development program for competitive swimming features life-enhancing qualities including integrity, discipline, teamwork, sportsmanship and health and fitness. We invite you to navigate the club’s portal for information about the team.

Leave a comment