Local Swimmers Torres, Alcaide, Oliver Ready For Olympic Trials Challenge

Local Swimmers Torres, Alcaide, Oliver Ready For Olympic Trials Challenge


WRITTEN BY SHARON ROBB

June 24, 2012

Dara Torres is a five-time Olympian seeking history.

Jessie Alcaide is a comeback swimmer looking to leave her mark.

Tiffany Oliver is an up-and-coming collegian hoping to enjoy the journey.

The Coral Springs Swim Club and South Florida Aquatic Club swimmers take center stage at this week’s U.S. Olympic trials in Omaha, Neb.

Torres, 45, needs no introduction. One of the all-time greatest swimmers in the history of the sport, Torres defies time when it comes to swimming.

The American record holder is coming back from state-of-the-art knee surgery in 2009 that many thought would end her career.

Motivated by the death of her coach, six-time Olympic coach Michael Lohberg, her competitive fires and her 6-year-old Tessa Grace, Torres is attempting to become the first swimmer to make a sixth Olympic team.

Torres has competed at the 1984, 1988, 1992, 2000 and 2008 Olympics. At 41, she won two silver medals in 2008 in Beijing and has a total of 12 Olympic medals.

“I love challenges and this is a huge one I’m taking on, much more than four years ago,” Torres said. “My coach and I had spoken about taking on this challenge before he passed away and I want to finish what we talked about.

“Plus, the fact that so many people come up to me and say I inspire them really gets me going. I want to still give people hope that they can do the things that they thought they couldn’t do.”

Torres is seeded eighth in 25.16 behind Jessica Hardy (24.63), Amanda Weir (24.70), Kara Lynn Joyce (24.86), Lara Jackson (24.98), Madison Kennedy (24.99), Christine Magnuson (25.06) and Dana Vollmer (25.09).

Alcaide, 27, moved from Maine to train with Lohberg at Coral Springs Aquatic Complex. Alcaide had come close to making her Olympic cuts in the past year and never gave up. Then she made two at a meet in Indiana and another on the west coast of Florida since March.

“I was frustrated I kept coming close so many times,” Alcaide said. “All the time and energy I put into it. It was all about dreams. I am so excited. It feels unreal to me.

“When I moved that was my goal, to go best times and make the trials,” Alcaide said. “At the trials I would love to go three best times. I would like to go and swim my best and see what I can do because I don’t know what I can do.”

Alcaide will open the competition on Monday in the 100-meter butterfly, the first of three events she has qualified for. She will also race the 50- and 100-meter freestyles.

Alcaide is in the seventh of 17 heats for the butterfly, seeded in 1:01.68.

Oliver, 19, who grew up in the Comets’ program, will represent both SOFLO and Florida State.

Oliver, a junior-to-be in the fall at Florida State, qualified in both the 50- and 100-meter freestyle events. Oliver holds the school record in the 100-yard freestyle (48.93) and is also a member of the Seminoles school record breaking 400-yard freestyle relay.

Oliver is one of 18 Florida State swimmers, past, present and incoming freshmen, qualified for the trials. Oliver’s only concern is the attention that is centered around trials and that it’s just not another meet.

“I hope it will motivate me to get up and go and to not be nervous,” Oliver said. “I just have to finish the race and do my best. I’m going to try not to even think about the additional attention.”

Former Coral Springs Swim Club swimmer Kevin Bandy will also compete in the trials. A junior at Louisville, Bandy will compete in the 200-meter butterfly (2:03.34).

University of Florida has 27 representatives from current collegians including Miami’s Carlos Omana, to post-grads like Ryan Lochte and Conor Dwyer and Gator alum including Torres.

FLORIDA GOLD COAST SWIMMERS AT U.S. TRIALS

AK Sharks: Austin Manganiello, Clara Smiddy, Samuel Smiddy

Coral Springs Swim Club: Dara Torres

Davie Nadadores: Emily Kopas, Nicholas Manousos, Joey Pedraza

Florida Keys: Mhyria Miller

Fort Lauderdale: Harper Bruens

Metro Aquatics: Carlos Omana

Miami Swimming: Michael Saco

Miami Hurricanes: Kelsi Hall, Brittany Selts

North Palm Beach: Connor Knight

Performance Aquatics: Kevin Bandy, Julie Stupp

Pine Crest: Alana Berrocal

St. Andrew’s Swimming: Tasija Karosas, Lindsey McKnight, Megan Moroney

South Florida Aquatic Club: Jessie Alcaide, Tiffany Oliver

Swim Fort Lauderdale: Lauren Driscoll, Ryan Rosenbaum

Unattached Florida Gold Coast: Rhi Jeffrey, Danielle Smith

Note: The local swim club with the most athletes entered in the 2012 trials is California with 140 total (71 female and 69 male). 1,829 athletes (900 female, 929 male) are entered in the Trials.

Sharon Robb can be reached at sha11cats@aol.com

 

 http://www.swim4soflo.com

Author: South Florida Aquatic Club - SOFLO Swimming

Welcome to the South Florida Aquatic club, a premier community swim team dedicated to providing opportunity and encouragement to all team members, from the beginner to the seasoned Olympic athlete in their pursuit of excellence. The year-round development program for competitive swimming features life-enhancing qualities including integrity, discipline, teamwork, sportsmanship and health and fitness. We invite you to navigate the club’s portal for information about the team.

Leave a comment